More Top Stories

Editor's Pick
Editor's Pick

TB cases detected

1 June 2024


Alleged rapist in remand

27 April 2024

Rugby league

Moana target 2025 World Cup

11 November 2022

Stage set for annual Sports Awards

Saturday 18 May 2024 | Written by Losirene Lacanivalu | Published in Other Sports, Sports


Stage set for annual Sports Awards
Women’s league 9s team with their spoils. LOSIRENE LACANIVALU / 23112302 / 23112303 / 23112304

Cook Islands Sports and National Olympic Committee (CISNOC) is anticipating a good turnout at the 2023 Cook Islands Sports Awards to be held tomorrow night.

Fourteen categories are set to be awarded at the annual ceremony held at The Edgewater Resort and Spa.

CISNOC secretary general Keziah Lewis said the award categories were open to CISNOC members for nominations, ensuring a diverse candidate pool.

Lewis said National Federations and Island Sports Associations were encouraged to nominate teams and individuals who they believe exemplify the award categories’ criteria.

“The nominees should feel proud as their achievements are recognised by peers and the sporting community, showcasing the inclusive and collaborative nature of this process,” she said.

Lewis said they’ve noticed an encouraging increase in nominations from National Federations this year.

“This suggests that the Federations and the public are eager to acknowledge our nominees.”

Lewis anticipates the highlight of the event to be the gathering of the sporting community, celebrating their collective achievements over the past year.

“Such gatherings are rare, so it’s an event I look forward to, where we can all celebrate together.”

She said at the Cook Islands Sports Awards, every attendee is considered a guest. However, Lewis said they will have a panel of guest speakers who will discuss themes related to creating career pathways for athletes and life beyond sports.

“Ticket sales have been consistent with previous years, with a preference for table purchases, though individual ticket purchases close to the event date are also accommodated,” she said.

“We anticipate a good turnout, especially as we celebrate the achievements of 2023 and our success at the Pacific Games, highlighting how our small nation continues to punch above its weight.”


Best Administered Outer Island Association: Aitutaki Sports Association

Best Outer Island Achievement Award – Aitutaki Athletics, Aitutaki Volleyball, Nelio George, and Aitutaki Sports Association.

Coach of the Year – Clive Nicholas, Rusty Matua, Danny    Simpson, Fletcher Melvin, Aik Ho and Horst Miehe.

Junior Sportsman of the Year – Thomas Makimare, Nelio    George, and Emmanuela Mataio.

Junior Sportswoman of the Year – Edon Teraitua, Aleida Tere, Lanihei        Connolly, Ana Ellison-Lupena, Mahana Sijp, and Emma Papali'i.

Pa Enua Sportswoman – Tatiana Sherwin, Teuanuku Koroa, Nelio George and Thomas Makimare.

Masters Sportsperson – Serena Hunter.

Sports Achievement of the Year – CIRL Aitu, CIRL Moana, Cook Islands Open Mixed Team Badminton, Women’s Basketball Team Pacific games 2023, Andre Tutaka-George, Wesley Roberts, Women’s Oe vaka Team   Pacific Games 2023, Athletics Cook Islands, Daniel Tolosa, Cook Islands men’s beach volleyball team.

Sports Administrator of the Year – Natalia Short, Wallace     Ariota, Marie Williams, Jean Akavi, Kaitini Herman, Brianna Lewis and Lesley and Kieran Chan.

Sports Fair Play Award – CIRL          Aitu, CIRL Moana, Men’s 3X3 Team SPG, Cook Islands Badminton            U19 team, and Jackie Rongo.

Sports Team of the Year – CIRL Aitu, CIRL  Moana, J16 Girls Canoeing CICA,

Woman's Basketball 3X3        , Women’s Basketball Team 5X5 Pacific Games 2023, Cook Islands Badminton            open mixed team, Cook Islands Badminton U19 badminton team, Cook Islands Badminton U15 Badminton team, Women’s Oe vaka Team Pacific Games 23.

Sports Technical Official – Lualua Tua Trood, Patty Taea and Tiramakea Miri Masters.

Sportsman of the Year – Andre Tutaka-George, Alex Beddoes, Daniel         Tolosa and Wesley Roberts.

Sportswoman of the Year – Lanihei Connolly, Eliana Tuaiti and Ngatokotoru Arakua.