More Top Stories

Rugby league

Moana target 2025 World Cup

11 November 2022

Youngsters compete in annual College Badminton Tournament

Wednesday 17 August 2022 | Written by Melina Etches | Published in Badminton, Sports


Youngsters compete in annual College Badminton Tournament
2022 Boys Singles College champion - Kaiyin Mataio, Nukutere College. Photo: SUPPLIED/22081610

The 7th Annual College Badminton Tournament was played last week at the National Auditorium with the Junior Year 7 and 8 taking the court on Thursday and the Seniors on Friday.

Thomas Ngauru, the president of Cook Islands Badminton Federation said: “After five weeks with working with all students on Rarotonga in Years 7 through to year 10 it was completed with a two-day tournament held at the National Auditorium.”

“Every year Cook Islands Badminton delivers shuttletime classes to the college students with the aim of giving all children the opportunity to play. It was great to see the level of play improve and were able to identify some new talent and future stars.

“We would like to thank Oceania Badminton for their assistance and the BWF MA Grants for their support.”

The results for the 7th Annual College Badminton Tournament is as follows:

The Year 9 and 10 Senior results: Girls Singles Champion Vaitea Crocombe-Ama - Tereora College, Runner Up Te Pa O Te Rangi Tupa - Nukutere College; Boys Singles Champion Kaiyin Mataio, Nukutere College; Runner-Up Zarrian Heather-Rau - Tereora College.

Girls Doubles Champion Tuaanaore Mitchell and Teurarii Macquarie - Nukutere College; Runner-Up Aleida Tere and Tuaine Nicholas Herman - Tereora College; Boys Doubles Champion Edward Patai and Augustine Teraitua - Tereôra College; Runner-Up Jade Cowan and Apenisa Bogitini - Nukutere College.

Junior Girls Doubles champions - Darlene Kureta and Tekura Tamangaro, Apii Nikao. Photo: SUPPLIED/22081611

Mix Doubles Champion Jaceline Nand and Charlie Ngatoko - Nukutere College; Runner-Up Totoo Tiaore and Raetea Rongo – Tereora College.

Overall Champions Nukutere College 72 points, 2nd Tereora College – 71 points, 3rd Titikaveka College – 44 points.

Juniors Year 7 and 8 Results: Girls Singles Champion Edon Teraitua -  Apii Avarua; Runner Up Lana Aperau Toa - Apii Arorangi; Boys Singles Champion Eliakima Webb - Apii Avarua; Runner Up Haize Gamez - Apii Nikao.

Girls Doubles Champion Darlene Kureta and Tekura Tamangaro - Apii Nikao; Runner-Up Tangi Tangapiri and Maiva Glassie - Apii Arorangi; Boys Doubles Champion Aiganalua Samania and Harold Rasmussen - Apii Nikao; Runner-Up Tzemis Tuara and George Rouru - Apii Avarua.

Mix Doubles Champion Lorelli Simpson and Noah Kelly - Apii Nikao, Runner-Up Bulou Samanakadavu and Tara Taake Beniamina, Apii Avarua.

Overall Champions Apii Nikao, 2nd Apii Avarua, 3rd Nukutere College.