More Top Stories


Nines in Paradise thrills

9 January 2024


The year in sports 2023

31 December 2023


2023 year in review

31 December 2023

Rugby league

Moana target 2025 World Cup

11 November 2022

Kukis name ‘experienced’ Rugby League World Cup squad

Tuesday 4 October 2022 | Written by CI News Staff | Published in League, Sports


Kukis name ‘experienced’ Rugby League World Cup squad
Cook Islands’ Kayal Iro at the 2019 World Cup Nines. He's been named in the World Cup squad. Credit: AAP/PA Images/21121314

Cook Islands rugby league coach Tony Iro has named an “experienced” side for the Rugby League World Cup to be held in England from October 15 to November 19, 2022.

Iro has named a number of Super League and NRL players with the likes of senior reps Tinirau Arona, Makahesi Makatoa, Esan Marsters, Tepai Moeroa, Dylan Napa, Anthony Gelling, Dominique Peyroux, Johnathon Ford, Paul Ulberg and Zane Tetevano leading the side.

Youngsters Kayal Iro, who capped off a breakthrough 2022 season with the Knock-On Effect NSW Cup Player of the Year award last month, Davvy Moale, Ruatapu Ngatikaura, Pride Pettersen-Robati and Brendan Piakura have also made the squad.

Coach Iro named Adam Tangata (Halifax) and Malachi Morgan (Southport Tigers) as standby players and players not considered due to injury and unavailability were Xavier Willison, Teui Robati, Troy Dargan and William Samuels.

“We have named an experienced group with a number of senior professionals. Many have good knowledge of the English conditions and we have added nine new faces to the squad that played Samoa in June during the Pacific Test Series,” Iro told Cook Islands News.

“We have had a number of players involved in finals campaigns in both Australia and the UK which will help in our preparation.”

The national team will depart for London from Sydney, this Friday.

Cook Islands is grouped in Pool D alongside Tonga, Papua New Guinea and Wales.

The national side will take on Wales in its opening match on October 19 followed by PNG on October 25 and Tonga on October 30.

  • Rashneel Kumar

Cook Islands squad

Tevin Arona (Auckland), Tinirau Arona (Wakefield Trinity), Geoffrey Daniela (St Marys Saints), Johnathon Ford (Featherstone Rovers), Anthony Gelling (Auckland), Kayal Iro (Cronulla Sharks), Makahesi Makatoa (Parramatta Eels), Steven Marsters (Thirroul Butchers), Esan Marsters-Siavale (Huddersfield Giants), Davvy Moale (South Sydney Rabbitohs), Tepai Moeroa (Melbourne Storm), Dylan Napa (Catalan Dragons), Ruatapu Ngatikaura (Wests Tigers), Moses Noovao-McGreal (Norths Devils), Pride Pettersen-Robati (NZ Warriors), Dominique Peyroux (Toulouse Olympique), Brendan Piakura (Brisbane Broncos), Reuben Porter (Tweed Heads Seagulls), Vincent Rennie (Newtown Jets), Reubenn Rennie (Newtown Jets), Brad Takairangi (Hull Kingston Rovers), Aaron Teroi (CQ Capras), Zane Tetevano (Leeds Rhinos), Paul Ulberg (London Broncos). Stand-by players are Adam Tangata (Halifax) and Malachi Morgan (Southport Tigers).