More Top Stories

Rugby league

Moana target 2025 World Cup

11 November 2022

The young and the bowled

Tuesday 24 January 2023 | Written by Melina Etches | Published in Bowling, Sports


The young and the bowled
The Tangi Jim family of five took out most of the prizes for Cook Islands Bowls 2022 National Championships. 23012304

The highlight of the Cook Islands Bowls 2022 season prizegiving awards was the battle of the “young and bold” for the title of the singles championships.

Two bold veteran bowlers Tere Daniel and Tangi Jim ousted two young guns Royden Aperau and Emily Tangi Jim for the prestigious titles.

Affiliated club members, the executive members, sponsors and guests attended the event which was held on Saturday, 14 January at the Rarotonga Bowling Club

The prizegiving event started with a “minute of silence” in tribute and respect of the passing of the late Taraeka George Paniani and Lady Ina Goodwin.

President of Cook Islands Bowls, Unakea Kauvai addressed the occasion and acknowledged the support of the federation members and the sponsors of the National Championship competitors.

Cook Islands Bowls recognises the performance and achievements of the bowlers from the nationals competition which are used for the selection process of bowling representatives to international and regional tournaments.

Phillip Urlich (left) and team Mauke Bowling Club placed 3rd in the National Men’s Triples, and the winners of the Patrons Masters Mixed Pairs - Papatua Papatua and Monica Yates for the Rarotonga Bowling Club. 23012307

The following players will be representing the Cook Islands at the following bowling championships which will be held this year: World Bowls Indoor Singles and Mixed Pairs Championships in Sydney, Australia in May 2023 – Tai Tangi Jim and  Royden Aperau; World Bowls Champion of Champions Singles in Wellington, New Zealand in November 2023 – Tere Daniel and Tai Tangi Jim and the Under 26 World Bowls Singles Championship in Christchurch, New Zealand in October – Emily Jim and Phillip Tangi Jim Jnr.

Kauvai stated that there are also opportunities for the sport to participate at the inaugural Oceania Championship in Auckland as well as the World Bowls Championship in the Gold Coast, Australia.

“Cook Islands Bowls will endeavour to find means, financially to send representatives to these tournaments,” he said.

The bowlers would like to acknowledge the contribution from the members and the Mauke Bowling group for the preparation and the hosting of the kaikai.

Cook Islands Bowls would like to thank and acknowledge the following sponsors:  Bergman’s and Son’s, Tokoa and Mere Rairoa, Sava Ltd, Cook Islands Tourism, DHL; Cassie Lindsay Memorial, Denis Tokorangi Memorial, Phillip and Tangi Jim family, Phillip Urlich and Benjamin Tokorangi memorial, and everyone who have contributed to the sports awards.


The Cook Islands Bowls 2022 results are as follows:

Men’s Fours: 1st Team Commonwealth - Royden Aperau, Philip Tangi Jim, Alex Kairua, Jason Lindsay; 2nd Mitiaro Bowling - Vavaka Rairoa, Makara, Lawrence Paniani, Ngatoko Ngatoko; 3rd Atiu Bowling Club - Moti Tokorangi, Zeta Tatuava, Eric Newbigging, Vou Williams. Ladies Fours: 1st Team Commonwealth - Emily Jim, Mata Puia, Tiare Jim, Tai Tangi Jim; 2nd Arorangi Bowling Club - Evelyn Henry, Miriama Taringa, Madeline Fariu, Anna Kairua; 3rd Mitiaro Bowling Club - Lucy Teokotai, Sam Ngatoko, Mou Tokorangi, Munokoa Purea. Men’s Triples: 1st Mangaia Bowling Club - Royden Aperau, Pita Toto’o, Jason Lindsay; 2nd Mauke Bowling Club - Jim Allan Moetaua, Tukai Engu, Phillip Urlich; 3rd Rakahanga Bowling Club - Phillip Jim Jnr, Rino Mareko, Phillip Tangi Jim Snr. Ladies Triples: 1st Rakahanga Bowling Club - Emily Jim, Tiare Jim, Tai Tangi Jim; 2nd Mauke Bowling Club - Zhera Moetaua, Tereapii Urlich, 3rd Tamaiti Moetaua; 3rd Pukapuka Bowling Club - Rangi Ioteva, April Melota, Porea Elisa. Men’s Pairs: 1st Rakahanga Bowling Club - Phillip Jim Jnr, Phillip Tangi Jim Snr; 2nd Mangaia Bowling Club - Royden Aperau, Jason Lindsay; 3rd Aitutaki Bowling Club - Vae Unuka, Daniel Webb. Ladies Pairs: 1st Rakahanga Bowling Club - Tiare Tangi Jim, Tai Tangi Jim; 2nd Rakahanga Bowling Club - Emily Tangi Jim, Munokoa Purea; 3rd Pukapuka Bowling Club - Mere Williams, Porea Elisa. Patrons Masters Mixed Pairs: 1st Rarotonga Bowling Club - Papatua Papatua and Monica Yates; 2nd Pukapuka Bowling Club - Ripa Tauia and Porea Elisa; 3rd Palmerston Bowling Club - Marie Melvin and Rick Hickling. Under 26 Junior Singles Championship: 1st Emily Tangi Jim, 2nd Phillip Tangi Jim Jnr, 3rd Royden Aperau. National Singles Championship Men’s: 1st Atiu Bowling Club Tere Daniel, 2nd Mangaia Bowling Club Royden Aperau, 3rd Atiu Bowling Club Ioane Ina Tou (Vou), 4th Manihiki Bowling Club Tatuava Tou (Doc). National Singles Championship Ladies: 1st Rakahanga Bowling Club Tai Tangi Jim, 2nd Rakahanga Bowling Club Emily Tangi Jim, 3rd Rarotonga Bowling Club Madeline Kare, 4th Rakahanga Bowling Club Munokoa Purea.