More Top Stories

Rugby league

Moana target 2025 World Cup

11 November 2022

Cricket champs on track

Friday 27 January 2023 | Written by CI News Staff | Published in Cricket, Sports


Cricket champs on track
Arorangi’s Glenn Hori Miller appeals for wicket against Tupapa K-11’s Ben Vakatini at Raemaru Park in the 2021 season. The two teams will meet in the final this Saturday. Photo: FILE/ RASHNEEL KUMAR/21101816

Defending champions Arorangi Redbacks and Muri will be hoping to retain their titles in the 2022 Rarotonga Cricket Club competition finals this Saturday at Raemaru Park.

In the men’s final, the Redbacks will host K11 while in the women’s showdown Muri will take on Arorangi.

The Arorangi teams made it into the finals after winning the top of the table playoffs on January 15.

K11 and Muri had to battle tooth and nail against Turangi teams in the semi-finals last Saturday to book their spots in this weekend’s clashes.

In the men’s semis held at Nikao Field, K11 batted first with openers Ben Vakatini and Ray Roumanu leading the charge.

K11 set the target to overcome Turangi’s first two bowlers and to stay in for eight overs with their openers. However Turangi’s opening bowlers Moni Uini and Mapu Maoate bowled extremely well.

Both teams played extremely well but K11 came out on top batting 132 runs and Turangi all out for 106.

Vakatini and Davis Teinaki top scored for K11 on 32 and 46 runs respectively. Maoate and Vane Junior were top run scorers for Turangi managing 22 and 40 runs respectively.

In the women’s semi-final played at Turangi Oval, the home side batted first and reached an impressive total of 192 runs which included 50 extras (23 wides and 27 no balls).

Turangi’s Kimi finished the opening inning with an impressive 94 not out with Annie Taufahema managing 46 not out.

In reply, Muri went rampant and scored 196 runs with Philica Maruariki scoring an outstanding 103 runs not out.

Turangi teams finished third in men’s and women’s divisions.

The finals will start at 12.15pm with Muri taking on Arorangi in women’s division followed by men’s clash between the Redbacks and K11 at 3.15pm. Entry is free. More in tomorrow’s edition.