More Top Stories

Editor's Pick
Editor's Pick

TB cases detected

1 June 2024


Alleged rapist in remand

27 April 2024

Rugby league

Moana target 2025 World Cup

11 November 2022

Cook Islands lose cricket opener vs Samoa

Friday 9 September 2022 | Written by Supplied | Published in Cricket, Sports


Cook Islands lose cricket opener vs Samoa
The Cook Islands national men’s cricket squad after having their uniforms blessed on Tuesday at the Lucky Rooster. - 22083109

Cook Islands cricket lost their opening East Asia Pacific Sub-Regional Qualifying Tournament match in Vanuatu last night.

The national side played Samoa in the second match of day one at the Vanuatu Cricket Ground in Port Vila.

Samoa won the toss and elected to field sending Cook Islands to bat in the opening inning.

Skipper Maara Ave and Hayden Dickson opened for the national side getting off to a slow start before losing their first wicket in the third over.

Ave, who top scored with 28 runs, tried to build a stable partnership with Aue Parima (23) but lost his wicket in the eighth over.

Cook Islands struggled to score 110 runs from 20 overs, losing eight wickets.

In reply, Samoa made a strong start and managed to overcome the target in 11.2 overs for the loss of three wickets to record an impressive seven wickets win.

Cook Islands will take on Fiji at 12.30pm (Cook Islands time) this afternoon. Fiji went down to host Vanuatu by 56 runs in the opener.

The tournament in Vanuatu is played in a round robin format where teams will play each other twice.

The team with the most points qualifies for the next step which is the regional final. Papua New Guinea and Philippines have already secured their place in the regional final. They will be joined by the winner of the tournament in Vanuatu and the winner of another tournament to be played between Indonesia, South Korea and hosts Japan in October 2022.

The matches will be livestreamed on

Cook Islands – Hori Miller, Benjamin George Vakatini, Davis Teinaki, Tomakanute Ritawa, Tomasi Wellington Vanuarua, Gabe Steven Raymond, Mea Tangi Me Ma’ara Joshua Ave, Cory Russell Dickson, Hayden Bob Dickson, Liam George Roderick Denny, William Teariki-Apainga Kokaua, Thomas Tereapii Nikau Parima, Aue Metua Parima, Danny Brent Simpson, Craig Murray – Team Coach, Rahul Patil – Team Manager. Non-travelling reserves – Pare Rongokea, Christopher Mana, Pati Ataela.