More Top Stories

Editor's Pick
Editor's Pick

TB cases detected

1 June 2024


Alleged rapist in remand

27 April 2024

Rugby league

Moana target 2025 World Cup

11 November 2022

U13 to kick off finals clashes

Tuesday 14 September 2010 | Published in Regional


It’s rugby grand finals time and today we preview the FBI under 13 grade clash between the formidable Tupapa Panthers and the threatening Arorangi Cowboys.

All rugby grand finals games will be staged at the BCI Stadium in Nikao starting with the under 13 grade.

The Panthers have been by far the most outstanding team this year in this grade.

With strike power all over probably the most pleasing aspect of their wins has been the style in which they have won their matches – playing fantastic rugby with structure and skill with plenty of tries being scored by their backline, the wingers especially, something that some of the senior teams could learn from.

Panthers players to watch are loose forwards Tino Oti and Tama Joseph, halves Aito Newbigging and Othneil ‘Aussie’ Joseph and their flyers Tyronne Marurai and Morgan Wichman.

The Cowboys have been champions in this grade for the past three years and are very much in development-mode with a younger squad.

The Cowboys made the grand final with an eight out of 11 win count.

Cowboys players to watch are midfield twins Noa and Kimi Samuel, fullback Fortes Anthony and first 5/8 Dwayne Taio.

The 2010 matches played between these two teams saw the Panthers beat the Cowboys 55-0 and 83-0. - CIRU

Under 13 Panthers: Jason Vavia, Salvatori Ngaroi, Toto Tupuna, Jnr Rongo, Tuki Paitai, Tau Henry, Tama Joseph, Tino Oti, Aitu Newbigging, Othneil Joseph, Charlie Teremoana, Sam Samuel, Tyronne Marurai, Tere Teremoana, Morgan Wichman, Alex Nootai, Joshua Mose, Dylan Areai and Ataitoa Strickland.

Under 13 Cowboys: Kimi Tuakeu, Nicky Maui, Puna Tamarua, Richard Parima, Robert Graham Jnr, Jarves Aperau, Nigel Pirake, Nuka Mokoroa, BJ Heather, Dwayne Taio, Matt Maui, Noa Samuel, Kimi Samuel, James Strickland, Fortes Anthony, Alex Alchin, Junior Ngaau and Albert Taru.