More Top Stories


Bigger and busier 2023: PM

31 December 2022

Other Sports

Double gold for Darts

21 January 2023


Population policy endorsed

10 January 2023


PM Brown vows to change law

23 January 2023

Rugby league

Moana target 2025 World Cup

11 November 2022


We’re halfway there!

16 November 2022


From the river to the ocean

18 November 2022

Trials underway for U17 Womens football

Monday 16 January 2012 | Published in Regional


About thirty six talented young footballers here on Rarotonga, New Zealand and the outer islands will face some nervous moments over the coming months as they attempt to force their way into the Cook Islands Under 17 Womens national squad for the FIFA World Cup qualifying tournament set to take place in Auckland, New Zealand.

Training sessions will commence today at the CIFA academy at 5pm with the Rarotonga based players along with coach, Angela Valamaka and assistant coach Michelle Paiti.

Most of the players invited to attend the trials are regulars in the Rarotonga local football league and is no doubt looking towards the challenge and the opportunity to play at an international level.

While the trial sessions take place, coaching staff are still calling for players who may wish to trial for a position in the Cook Islands Under 17 Womens squad, to attend todays training session which will take place at the CIFA complex in Matavera, 5pm.

If you are a keen footballer born in 1995 or after, you are welcome to attend the trials, says Michelle.

This is a great opportunity for any football player who may wish to pursue further and maybe one day play in the national squad.

The following players have been invited to trial out for the Under 17 Womens national squad, Rarotonga, outer islands and overseas Linade Unuka, Mona Taio, Paulina Morris-Ponga, Lafala Nooroa, Paura Temarangi, Tekeu Toru, Teiti Tupuna, Tetini Tararo, Vaihere Moetaua, Sarah Petero, Atinata Atera, Edna Teio, Xaeon Henry, Imelda Vakai, Leiana Temata, Louana Trego, Tyrina Trego, Karalaina Matenga, Tepaeru Katoa, Brooke Miller, Tuakana Noovao, Raivaru Nganu, Moeroa Nootai, Temata Harmon, Tepaeru Toka, Amanda Mangi, Penelope Charlie, Sarah Ngatokorua, Antoinette Hewett, June Punua, Lee Maoate-Cox, Maeva Carr, Eri Short and Jade Valamaka.