More Top Stories

Editor's Pick
Editor's Pick

TB cases detected

1 June 2024


Alleged rapist in remand

27 April 2024

Rugby league

Moana target 2025 World Cup

11 November 2022

Sizzling B final set

Friday 17 September 2010 | Published in Regional


Tomorrow’s Whatever Bar and Grill Senior B grade grand final between the Arorangi Cowboys and Avatiu Eel is sure to sizzle!

Led by inspirational captain Jean-Pierre Rongokea the Cowboys have been the outright leaders in this grade winning all 11 of their matches this season.

Stars from ‘yesteryear’ working in partnership with some young upcoming talent has created competition for all positions and, more importantly, created depth for the Cowboys senior teams in 2010.

Players to watch are speedy fullback Sione Fameteau, 120kg midfielder James Samson and their energetic 19-year-old halfback Vat Mitiau.

For the Eels – as usual their best hope will be to compete with the Cowboys out wide.

The Eels have successfully drafted in some of their under 19 stocks which will allow them to play their natural open and expansive game.

The successful tactic of recruiting their under 19 players has allowed the Eels to surprisingly make this year’s grand final on the back of defeating the 2008-09 champions the Bulls 13-8 in last weekend’s extra time thriller.

Players to watch in the Eels pack will be the experienced and crafty loose forwards Mac Mokoroa and Wally Tangata supported by their young backline.

In terms of consistency and form the Cowboys are favoured to win but don’t expect the Eels to relent without a fight and the Cowboys have been known to fall at grand final time – especially when complacency sets-in! Good luck to both teams.

- Ruck and maul

Arorangi Cowboys: Titi George, Niroa Williams, Pai Obeda, Mani Mamanu, Danny Heather, Tuaine Katu Teiti, Steven Naea, Jean Pierre Rongokea (Captain), Vat Mitiau, Pomare Pokipoki (Vice-Captain), Rouru Une, James Samson, Piri Matapo, Danny Raina, Sione Faimetau, Semi Gusuna, Geovanii Marsters, Daniel Alexander Munro, Terry Mataio, Tomasi Cama and Keutekarakia Ken Mataroa.

Avatiu Eels: Junior Tangata, Lagz Apera, Norman Taripo, Edward Kamana, Tamatoa Emile, Papa Flash Tou, Wally Tangata, Vai Papera, Mac Mokoroa, Stan Tobia, Nigel Hoeflich, Sirla Pera, Joe Hoeflich, Kore Raumea and Noel Emile.

Grand finals draw: 1pm U13 Grade Tupapa Panthers vs Arorangi Cowboys, 1.55pm U16 Grade Avatiu-Nikao Eels vs Arorangi Cowboys, 3.15pm U19 Grade Tupapa Panthers vs Avatiu-Nikao Eels, 4.40pm Senior B Arorangi Cowboys vs Avatiu-Nikao Eels, 5.50pm Women’s City vs Country, 6.30pm Senior A Arorangi Cowboys vs Avatiu-Nikao Eels.