More Top Stories


Bigger and busier 2023: PM

31 December 2022

Other Sports

Double gold for Darts

21 January 2023


Population policy endorsed

10 January 2023


PM Brown vows to change law

23 January 2023

Rugby league

Moana target 2025 World Cup

11 November 2022


We’re halfway there!

16 November 2022


From the river to the ocean

18 November 2022

Panthers claim club sevens title

Monday 31 October 2011 | Published in Regional


The Tupapa Panthers were crowned the cup winners and local club sevens champions after disposing of the Ngatangiia-Matavera Dragons 17-12 at the Avatiu field on Saturday.

The Panthers have been the form sevens team for most of 2011, winning major tournaments including the CITC pre-season sevens and also the CITC Constitution sevens tournament this year.

With plenty of Panthers go forward generated by their hard-working forwards Tariu Tairea and Francis Smith this allowed good front-foot ball for their fleet-footed backline import Taleta Tupuola and local flyer Conrad Piri.

The Dragons tried hard but were always in catch-up mode.

Bests for the Dragons were Jay Maui and their imports North Harbour sevens representatives Jordan Larson and William Murray.

In the plate finals between the Bulls and Cowboys a long distance try scored after the fulltime hooter had sounded by Bulls speedster Mana Ngaau gave the Bulls the win 19-12 against a resilient Cowboys outfit lead by pivot Spoon Marsters and skilled forward Eddie Teraitua.

CIRU would like to say meitaki maata to CITC as the major sponsors of club sevens, the weekends hosts Avatiu Rugby Club and also to all the teams and match officials that have been involved in the last 4 weekends of CITC club sevens which has put the local teams in a good frame of mind heading into this weeks major event the Cook Islands International Sevens Tournament.

Full results Dragons 41 vs Atiu 0 (quarter final), Panthers 29 vs Police 0 (quarter final), Eels 21 vs Bulls 17 (quarter final), Reds 21 vs Cowboys 14 (quarter final), Atiu 7 vs Cowboys 12 (plate semi final), Police 10 vs Bulls 17 (plate semi final), Dragons 10 vs Reds 0 (cup semi final), Panthers 33 vs Eels 0 (cup semi final), Bulls 19 vs Cowboys 12 (plate final), Panthers 17 vs Dragons 12 (cup final).