More Top Stories


Bigger and busier 2023: PM

31 December 2022

Other Sports

Double gold for Darts

21 January 2023


Population policy endorsed

10 January 2023


PM Brown vows to change law

23 January 2023

Rugby league

Moana target 2025 World Cup

11 November 2022


We’re halfway there!

16 November 2022


From the river to the ocean

18 November 2022

Hats off to the umpires

Saturday 5 November 2011 | Published in Regional


Todays Computer Man mens cricket matches cap off a massive week for cricket officials on Rarotonga.

Northern Districts Elite umpire Colin Elstob, here to support the development of cricket officials on Rarotonga, has completed a long week of New Zealand Cricket Umpires courses.

In all, 42 male and female cricketers attended.

Elstob on his consecutive annual educational visit commented he has been impressed by the marked improvement of umpiring standards and game understanding locally.

There has been a marked improvement in umpiring knowledge since my previous visit in 2010. The well attended courses and the high pass marks were a strong indication of the local players and officials interest in understanding the laws of cricket, said Elstob.

Elstob returns to Rotorua, New Zealand today.

I understand that Cook Islands Cricket has been working closely with Northern Districts Cricket to provide opportunities for Cooks umpires to travel to New Zealand to officiate in tournaments, together with the opportunities within ICC this means there is a clear pathway for Cook Islands umpires wanting to advance their umpiring opportunities internationally.

Cook Islands Crickets Alister Stevic commented that despite Elstobs departure there are continual development opportunities.

Cook Islands Cricket umpires would like to thank the Edgewater Resort and Spa for their continued support of local umpires.

Cook Islands Cricket wishes all NZC Level 3 attendees the best of luck come crunch time when NZ Cricket marks their exam papers.

Congratulations to newly certified New Zealand Cricket Level 2 umpires; Sabine Janneck, Deana Tamaiva, Rangi Mamanu, Andrew Forbes (Arorangi), Mark Larsen, Cameron Thorp, Rob Samuel, Corey Fisher (Titikaveka), Osolai Akai, Ngametua Tariau, Kaiwole Eliu (Tupapa) Pavai Taramai (Avana/Matavera) Lacynthia Rani, Arthur Emile, Punanga Kaveao, Tina Mato (Muri) Brendon Fiebig (Avatiu Nikao) Grace Rea, Travel Tuaputa, Eria Tangimetua (Turangi) and Perina Kata and Margaret Dean.