More Top Stories

Editor's Pick
Editor's Pick

TB cases detected

1 June 2024


Alleged rapist in remand

27 April 2024

Rugby league

Moana target 2025 World Cup

11 November 2022

Cowboys face Eels

Wednesday 25 August 2010 | Published in Regional


The Arorangi Cowboys taken on the Avatiu Eels today in the under 16 Powerade challenge.

The Cowboys are the current holders of the Powerade Challenge Trophy after defeating the Tupapa Panthers by 5-0 a fortnight ago.

The Panthers have held the trophy for the past four years.

The Eels have defeated the Cowboys twice this year in club matches – in round one, 34-0 and round two, 17-12.

On current form the Eels look to have the upper-hand, although the Cowboys have home-ground advantage and their rowdy-bunch of supporters.

Eels players to look out for today include dangerous backs – first five-eighths Basil Matapo and midfielders Nigel Hoeflich and Stanly Tobia who have consistently ‘carved-up’ all opposition this year.

Cowboys players to watch include constructive loose-forwards Robert Heather Jnr and Levi McKinley.

Also deceptive inside back Tiaarn Mataora is another to keep your eye on.

See you at Raemaru Park today at 4.30pm to see who gets to hold the U16 Powerade Trophy for 2010 – $2 entry fee in aid of junior development.

U16 AVATIU EELS: Richie Ponini, Zeru Pera(Capt), Tutu Pouao, Jamal Pakitoa, Steven Hiro, Tuaine Unuia, Tamanui Nicholas, Kane Rima, Marcelo Rairoa, Basil Matapo, Nigel Hoeflich, Stanley Tobia, Rauti Ellison, Puna Hiro, Petero Teio.

U16 ARORANGI COWBOYS: William Boller, Yves Obeda, George Isamaela, O’Neil Rongo, Andrew Purua, Levi McKinley(Capt), Dennis Rangi, Robert Jnr, Henry Ariihee, Tiaarn Mataora, Tokoiva George, Nathaneil Tairi, Ariimanu Shan, Calaise Mamanu, Tereinga Murare.