More Top Stories


Nines in Paradise thrills

9 January 2024


The year in sports 2023

31 December 2023


2023 year in review

31 December 2023

Rugby league

Moana target 2025 World Cup

11 November 2022

Joy as Tereora holds first assembly post Covid-19 restrictions

Saturday 14 May 2022 | Written by Melina Etches | Published in Education, National


Joy as Tereora holds first assembly post Covid-19 restrictions
Manea Ave achieved NCEA Level 1 Excellence and Mia Matapuku-Simonsen achieved a NCEA Level 1 Merit. Photo: Melina Etches/22051316

The Princess Anne Hall at Tereora College was packed with students for the first full assembly since the outbreak of Covid-19.

The assembly also marked the introduction of the Tereora prefects on stage in front of the students. Due to earlier Covid restrictions, the students did not experience the prefect investiture ceremony held earlier in the year.

The students sang with strong clear voices, singing the college national anthem “Kia Toa” with pride.

During this special assembly, the New Zealand NCEA Level 1 Merit certificates were also presented to students.

Principal of Tereora College Tania Morgan said it was great to see the hall filled from top to bottom with students and parents who had come to join in acknowledging 2021 achievers. 

Deputy head boy Daniel Tolosa and prefect Asia Areora with their NCEA Level 2 Merit certificates. Photo: Melina Etches/22051321

“As a first full school assembly, the atmosphere was definitely one of celebration,” Morgan said.

“Congratulations to our students who received acknowledgments today, I was also proud to see a number of male students receiving awards.”

College deputy head boy Daniel Tolosa said: “Looking at the students from the stage was really different because we never had a prefect induction, so I was kind of nervous as this was the first time for us to be on stage and our first assembly for a long time.”

Kube Taripo and her proud mother Curly Hosking-Taripo. Photo: Melina Etches/22051322

Tolosa, a Year 13 student, said he looked forward to achieving higher grades, participating in athletics meets, and travelling overseas.

Prefect Asia Areora was pleased with the gift baskets which were presented with each Merit certificate recipient.

“It definitely is a big thing with the assembly, I liked the inclusivity, and I’m loving the different developments with the students because last year with Covid nothing happened, so this year it should be like full power ahead. It’s going to be fun to see how the year pans out.”

Heinarii Tauira-Law, who achieved a NCEA Level 2 Merit certificate, with her proud mother Tangi Tauira. Photo: Melina Etches/22051320

Year 12 student Kube Taripo said the assembly was “very exciting and it’s an honour to receive an award in a new school - which was a big goal of mine, so I’m happy with what I’ve achieved”.

Feeling “excited and just really happy” prefect Heinarii Tauira-Law said, although last year was quite difficult with Covid, being part of the assembly felt good and “a great start to better things to come for our college and students”.

Tamarua Pureau-Pukeiti, Kanoa Kermode and Johnny Herman achieved NCEA Level 1 Merit certificates. Photo: Melina Etches/22051323

Tereora College Overall Endorsement 2021 NCEA Level 1:

Anau Te Manga. Dwayne Matapo Merit, Maiata Newnham Merit, Caitlyn Tommy Merit, John Simpson Merit, Moana Une Merit, Sally Matunga Excellence, Melani Thomson Excellence, Athina Karika Excellence.

Anau Te Kou. Chiyo Timoti Merit, Rakiki Brown Meri, Tuine Ngatokorua Merit, Mia Matapuku-Simonsen Merit, Daniel Akavi Merit, Kanoa Kermode Merit, Johnny Herman Merit, Heinarii Law Merit 2, Tamarua Pureau-Pukeiti Excellence, Manea Ave Excellence   , Vannes Sendito Excellence 2.

Anau Ikurangi. Tariana Tetauru Merit, Amqle Tuaratini Merit, Erica Teariki Merit, Jaidhan Drollett Merit, Isabel James Merit, Tai Eraio Merit 1, Tamyra Bullen Merit 2, Samuela Solomona Merit 2, Carlos Sadaraka-Peyroux Merit 2, Asia Areora Merit 2, Tiare Monga Excellence 1, Ayen Montaget Excellence 1.

Anau Maungaroa. Kimiora Akama Merit, Ngatupuna Kae Merit, Georgia Dearlove Merit, Yannicka Tinirau Merit, Jaumees Leito Merit, Karen Baren Merit, Te Mata Patai Merit, Jerahten Akama Merit, Grace Milanovic Merit, Kube Taripo Merit, Shalom-Nissi Vunibaka Merit, Tupou Tobia Merit, Ron Teulilo Merit 2, Kyara Wilson Merit 2, Daniel Tolosa Merit 2, Hannah Hosea Merit 2, Marion Rani Merit 2, Esther Miller Excellence.

Uha Reuther Merit, Jade Tierney Merit, Victoria Fatiaki Merit, Shrylls Evangelio Merit, Ngatupuna Eliu Merit, Hereiti File Merit, Tuira Enoka Merit, Mikara Ringi Merit, Koru McDonald Merit, Noeleen Kiriau Merit, Kaveariki Nia Merit, Vaipo Mataora Merit, Poona Katuke Merit, Luca Murray Merit, Dalcynare Kirite Merit, Charlene Akaruru Merit, Aaron Simpson Merit, Kiarn Whatarau Excellence, Eleanor Wichman Excellence.