More Top Stories


Alleged rapist in remand

27 April 2024

Rugby league

Moana target 2025 World Cup

11 November 2022

Healey wins blistering Tour de Raro cycle race

Thursday 9 May 2024 | Written by Supplied | Published in Sports, Triathlon


Healey wins blistering Tour de Raro cycle race
Bron Healey, left, won the Tour de Raro race in a superfast time of 44:46 minutes, Lucy McDonald was the first lady to cross the finish line, and Roland Neururer took home the local male trophy. SUPPLIED/24050812

The Ride Rarotonga Tour de Raro is always a highlight of the Cook Islands Triathlon week of events, and the blisteringly fast cycle sprint around the island is a perfect way to close out the events.

This year’s race took place on Tuesday, starting from town and saw a field of 51 riders, two of whom were on a tandem bike, taking to the road for the one lap race.

A police escort ensured the roads were clear for the cyclists who were reaching speeds of almost 50km/h in places.

Henry Hale from New Zealand made an early break but the following pack made up of Rob Dallimore, Bron Healey, Roland Neururer, Lucy McDonald and Jacob Pynenburg soon closed the gap. They cycled in formation through Tupapa with the lead changing between Dallimore and Healey through to Muri. By then a number of smaller groups had formed, and cyclists took turns to keep the pace high and the groups worked to catch each other and the leaders.

Neururer, who took the front several times, said that his lead group didn’t let off the pace at all, they cycled hard and fast for the entire race. Behind them McDonald had lost the tail of the leaders but was having a solid ride, and the Postrzygacz family worked well rotating the lead between each other to maximise speed and efficiency.

In a superfast time of 44:46 minutes, the final sprint was won by Healey, half a wheel ahead of triathlon champion Dallimore, followed in third place by Henry Hale.

Triathlon president Neururer crossed the line with the finish pack to take the first local male trophy and McDonald who crossed the line at 49:16 mins took the first lady award. 

Locals Jacob Pynenburg, Mike Carr, and Dean Yarral were next to finish followed by second and third ladies Adrianna Skurosz and Jules Shawcroft.

The prize-winning dinner was held at The Edgewater Resort and Spa with a table of prizes very generously awarded from Ride Rarotonga giving cycle essentials and other items to all the cyclists.

This brings to a close the triathlon festival for another year.

President Neururer would like to express his sincere thanks to everyone who has made the week a massive success including Air New Zealand, The Edgewater Resort and Spa, BSP Bank, Cook Islands Tourism, CITC, Ride Rarotonga, The Bond Store, Vaima Pure Island Water, Island Car and Bike Hire, The Raina Family, Cook Islands Police, Nikao Girl Guides, Puaikura Volunteer Fire Brigade, all the volunteers and marshals, Roly Rolleston, and Rarotonga Sailing Club.

The triathlon association will now be preparing for their upcoming cycling season with mountain biking over the next month and then preparation for the annual 100km cycle. 

  • Lucy McDonald/CITAI


Leave a Reply