More Top Stories

Rugby league

Moana target 2025 World Cup

11 November 2022

Nikao, Titikaveka crowned champs

Monday 19 December 2022 | Written by Supplied | Published in Football, Sports


Nikao, Titikaveka crowned champs
Nikao Sokattak after winning the Knockout Cup title on Saturday. CIFA MEDIA/22121909

A much-awaited Rarotonga football finals day came to an end on Saturday at CIFA Complex in Matavera. Stands and grounds were filled with many supporters who came out to witness who take the spoils after weeks of intense competition.

The premier men’s final had Nikao Sokattak supporters on edge as they went through 90 minutes of hustling and tussling against Tupapa Maraerenga. Fighting for possession, Nikao Sokattak took every chance seriously as Tupapa Maraerenga stood tall in defence to keep their opponents at bay.

Experienced Nikao player Stephen Willis ended the first half in their favour after executing a free kick taken by James Osiramo to lead 1-0.

A frustrated Tupapa made numerous attempts at goal in the opening spell but they were denied each time by Nikao stopper Tahiri Elikana.

Tupapa’s Grover Harmon and Paavo Mustonen were aggressive in the midfield trying to get through but Nikao’s defensive line kept them as far away from the goal as possible.

After relentless effort, Mustonen managed to pick up a golden opportunity and executed well to level the match 1-all.

Many chances were created in the last few minutes of the match but none of them successful which took them into a sudden death penalty shoot out to decide the winner.

The first two attempts from both sides met the back of the net. Nikao’s third attempt softly got its way into the net, but as the pressure filled the air Tupapa’s third shot was denied by Nikao’s goalkeeper.

With a goal lead, it was all down to Willis, who got their opener and booted the winner, to end the match 6-4 in Nikao’s favour.

The senior women’s final was also decided via a penalty shootout. Titikaveka took home the trophy after the side beat the highly fancied Tupapa 5-4.



U15 Boys – Avatiu FC vs Matavera FC: 2-0; U15 Girls – Avatiu FC vs Tupapa Maraerenga: 3-0; U18 Men – Nikao Sokattak FC vs Tupapa Maraerenga: 2-1; Senior Women – Titikaveka FC vs Tupapa Maraerenga FC: 5-4; Premier Men – Nikao Sokattak FC vs Tupapa Maraerenga FC: 6-4.