More Top Stories

Rugby Union

Bigger and busier 2023: PM

31 December 2022

Rugby league

Moana target 2025 World Cup

11 November 2022

Cecil, Schofield win Aitutaki Golf Open

Friday 3 November 2023 | Written by Rashneel Kumar | Published in Golf, Sports


Cecil, Schofield win Aitutaki Golf Open
Aitutaki residence first place, ladies first place and ladies outright winner Maputai Cecil. ALAN NANAI/23110106

Maputai Cecil, who is bound for the Pacific Games, put on a good show at the annual Air Rarotonga Aitutaki Golf Open tournament to win the top prize in the senior ladies division.

The tournament, which was held a week ago, provided a good platform for Cecil and other national golfers to prepare for the Pacific Games in Honiara, Solomon Islands, from November 22 to December 2.

A total of 46 golfers — 35 men and 11 ladies — from Rarotonga registered and joined 41 golfers from Aitutaki, three from Melbourne, and one from New Zealand to compete in “probably one of the best tournaments to date, as everything from playing times, rulings, and allocations was up to par as expected,” the organiser said.

The three-day tournament saw some close competitions in the men’s and ladies’ juniors, intermediate, seniors, and veteran categories.

The tournament showcased some local talents, and as a result, after a long time, top honours have remained in Aitutaki.

In the ladies division, young Cecil took out the honours with an outright win in two categories: the Aitutaki resident award and the open ladies winner. Maputai played a calm and well-controlled game throughout the tournament, and with game time experience in Rarotonga, she managed to overcome her tough and experienced opponents.

Young Quinton Schofield took out the men’s outright honours, also winning in two categories: the Aitutaki residence’s award and the open men’s division. On the final day of the tournament, Schofield faced a tough battle from three other golfers closing in on him, but it didn’t affect his form as he stayed composed to win the title.

The two young Aitutaki golfers, Maputai and Schofield, have surprised a lot of people with their performance against some seasoned golfers who have won numerous titles in Rarotonga and Aitutaki.

Samuel Twin collected the big money prize of $400 after slotting two birdie twos in one day. The record for most birdie twos in one day is held by Alan Nanai, who managed three birdies. The record for most hole-in-ones is held by Greta Neale, who recorded four hole-in-ones.

Aitutaki Golf president Ned Neale would like to acknowledge the sponsors who came on board and contributed to prizes for the Aitutaki Golf Open 2023.

“A big meitaki atupaka to Munro Hockin and Air Rarotonga for always supporting the Aitutaki Golf Open every time, BSP’s David Street and Ali Napa who organised all sweep prizes for the four days.”

Other sponsors were BCI, May Kavana, Mary Souter, Michigan Motors, Baxters Waterworld, Stuart Henry, Slice Boyz (Melbourne), and Allan Mycroft, whose father started the Aitutaki Golf Club in 1970/1971.

Neale would also like to thank Sonny Karati and his assistant Metuatini (Tin Cup) Vaevae for the outstanding work they did to the greens, mowing and preparing them for the tournament.

The tournament ended with a big feast catered by the Are Kava Darts Club.

  • Alan Nanai


Best Nett: Ladies – 1st Melicious Tumu 184, 2nd Twin Henry 190; Men’s –

1st Moko Kavana 191 (cb), 2nd          Takapuna Vaikai 191(cb); Vets Division

Ladies – 1st Alice Pilkington 222, 2nd Kurai Foster 228(cb), 3rd        Nane Roa 228(cb); Men’s – 1st Enuake Tare 212, 2nd Juniour Manuela 221, 3rd Tiraa George 222; Junior Division: Ladies – 1st Greta Neale 242, 2nd Jeneta Baxter 244(cb), 3rd Catelyn Toko 244(cb); Men’s – 1st Pi David Jnr 245, 2nd David Street 250, 3rd Zeka Williams 254; Intermediate Division:

Men’s – 1st Tai Toko 232, 2nd Daniel Tutai 233, 3rd Teina Tekopua 234 (cb); Aitutaki Residence: Ladies – 1st Maputai Cecil 213, 2nd Kim Mitchell 224; Men’s – 1st Quinton Schofield 211, 2nd Winston Kiria 214(cb); Senior Division: Ladies – 1st Maputai Cecil 213, 2nd Kim Mitchell 224, 3rd Alice Mitchell 229, 4th Naomi Toko 237; Men’s –

1st Quinton Schofield 211, 2nd Daniel Webb 214(cb), 3rd Winston Kiria 214(cb), 4th Ned Neale(Saint) 214(cb).