More Top Stories


Nines in Paradise thrills

9 January 2024


The year in sports 2023

31 December 2023


2023 year in review

31 December 2023

Rugby league

Moana target 2025 World Cup

11 November 2022

Titikaveka College caps off ‘challenging year’ with annual Prizegiving Day

Wednesday 14 December 2022 | Written by Melina Etches | Published in Education, National


Titikaveka College caps off ‘challenging year’ with annual Prizegiving Day

Proud families and friends attended the Titikaveka College Prizegiving Day which was held yesterday.

Titikaveka College Parents and Teachers Association (PTA) chairperson Elizabeth Hosking said it had been a “challenging year” for the committee.

Hosking said it was good to have the support from the parents and families, particularly on Prizegiving Day which marked the end of the academic year.

With Christmas around the corner, Hosking on behalf of the PTA extended Christmas and New Year greetings to all the student, teachers and families.

“To the students, please prepare yourselves for next year and for those who are moving on to Tereora, take care of yourselves,” said Hosking.

Fifteen-year-old Rupe Seiler Mokoroa was ecstatic to receive the Year 10 Sportsperson of the Year trophy his older brother Nukumaeaea Mokoroa received in 2019.

“I’m amazed to receive the same award as my brother. I want the kids to know that even when you’re not too good at something, to keep trying and work hard,” said Mokoroa.

His proud grandparents Don and Nana (Jackson) Siliar were pleased with his achievements.

“I was quite surprised and I’m excited, we are so proud,” said his grandmother.

Mokoroa will be moving to New Zealand next year to attend military school – a dream he has wanted to pursue since he was a child.

  • Melina Etches


Dux – Jacob Arbuthnott; Runner-up Dux – Selwyn Ioana-Short; 2nd Runner-up Dux – Jadin Samuel; 3rd Runner-up Dux – Lilian Aratangi. Most Outstanding student – Jadin Samuel; Overall Sportsperson of the Year – Jadin Samuel; Runner-up Sportsperson of the Year - Benjamin Tuakeu; ANZ Junior (Year 10) Sportsperson of the Year - Rupe Mokoroa; Year 10 Runner-up Sportsperson of the Year - Tamaiva Teinakitama; Year 7 & 8 Sportsperson of the Year - Te-Pito-O-Maui Denny. Principal’s Award: Taylor Johnston; Temuera Matata; Tau Toria Hosking-Tekoronga; Konini Kite. Year 11 Awards: Most Improved in ICT - Jonah Tepuaroa Ioteva; First in Maori - Loveinio Oti; Most Improved in Maths - Teremoana Rae; Most Improved in Science, 2nd in DVC - Alexis Tobia; Most improved in Maori - Sidney Brown; Most Improved in Hospitality, HE, PE and 3rd in DVC - Tavai Atuatika; Most Improved in DVC - Ngatungane Metua Area. Year 10 Awards:  Most Improved in Social Science, Food Technology and ICT, 3rd in Textiles, 3rd Equal in Maori, 2nd in Maths - Lalytah Tangirere; Most Improved in Woodwork, 2nd in Food Technology, 2nd in English - Sara Ben Marsters; 3rd in Woodwork - Mariul Maoate; 1st in Woodwork, 3rd equal in Maori, HE and PE - Tamaiva Teinakitama; 1st in HE and PE, 3rd equal in Maori - Romano Junior Moetaua; Most Improved in Maori and 2nd in ICT - Jubilee Jubilee. Year 10 Top Four Overall Placing Awards: 1st Overall - Jessica Tangirere, 4th Overall - Arepapa Tua, 3rd Overall Rupe Mokoroa, 2nd Overall - Matangaro Arama, Top Overall - Hanamarie Henry.