More Top Stories


Alleged rapist in remand

27 April 2024

Rugby league

Moana target 2025 World Cup

11 November 2022

Cricket squad named for T20 Qualifiers

Saturday 6 August 2022 | Written by Rahul Patil | Published in Cricket, Sports


Cricket squad named for T20 Qualifiers
Glenn Hori Miller appeals for wicket against Tupapa K-11’s Ben Vakatini at Raemaru Park. Photo: FILE/ RASHNEEL KUMAR/21101816

Cook Islands Cricket Association (CICA) has named the squad that will be participating in the East Asia Pacific Sub-Regional Qualifying Tournament to be played from the 9th-15th September in Vanuatu.

Veteran Hori Miller will co-captain the national team alongside Ma’ara Ave.

The upcoming tournament is Cook Islands’ first step towards qualification for the T20 World Cup to be played in the West Indies and USA in 2024.

The squad will leave for Vanuatu on September 1 with a stopover in Auckland where they are scheduled to play three practice matches on September 3and 4 against Tamaki Makaurua Tane – an Auckland Maori men’s team. They will then fly to Vanuatu on September 6 to participate in the tournament and return home via Auckland to reach Rarotonga on September 16.

With an average age of 31 the team is a great combination of experience and youth and is made up of local Cook Islands based cricketers as well as New Zealand based cricketers having Cook Islands heritage.

Currently the local players have three practice sessions per week which include fitness work, fielding drills, net sessions, open wicket practice and game scenarios whereas the New Zealand based players are all working hard at their respective facilities.

Head coach Craig Murray plans to intensify the training sessions in the coming weeks while also trying to organise practice matches locally by reaching out to the various clubs in Rarotonga.

With the efforts being put in CICA president Grant Walker is confident that the team is definitely shaping up nicely to be highly competitive in the tournament. Speaking to CI News Grant said: “It’s a fantastic opportunity for Cook Islanders to gain valuable international sporting experience. The trip wouldn’t have been possible without the efforts of everyone involved i.e. the players, head coach Craig Murray and player/assistant coach Hori Miller.”

“I would also like to thank our primary sponsor CIC and last but not the least a big thank you to the families and employers of everyone involved for their support and understanding with regards to the time involved in training and the 16-day trip itself.”

Cook Islands – Hori Miller, Benjamin George Vakatini, Davis Teinaki, Mamanu William Emile, Tomakanute Ritawa, Tomasi Wellington Vanuarua, Gabe Steven Raymond, Mea Tangi Me Ma’ara Joshua Ave, Cory Russell Dickson, Hayden Bob Dickson, Liam George Roderick Denny, William Teariki-Apainga Kokaua, Thomas Tereapii Nikau Parima, Aue Metua Parima, Danny Brent Simpson (Subject to ICC approval), Craig Murray – Team Coach, Rahul Patil – Team Manager. Non-travelling reserves – Pare Rongokea, Christopher Mana, Pati Ataela.