More Top Stories

Editor's Pick
Editor's Pick

TB cases detected

1 June 2024


Alleged rapist in remand

27 April 2024

Rugby league

Moana target 2025 World Cup

11 November 2022

Winning innings

Tuesday 14 September 2021 | Written by CI News Staff | Published in Cricket, Sports


Winning innings
Nikao vs. Turangi during a cricket match in 2020. 20090927

Top local teams have made a winning start in the Rarotonga Cricket Club competition over the weekend.

Defending champions Turangi and Matavera made perfect starts to their title defence campaigns in the men’s and women’s division respectively.

The weekly competition featuring 15 clubs – eight men’s and seven women’s – started on Saturday with round one games.

Turangi’s Richard Piakura also scored the first century of the season in a big win against TKV.

Against TKV at home, Turangi batted first and scored a massive 291 runs from their 20 overs. Piakura was the top scorer, smashing 102 runs and he was well supported by Tutu Tangimetua, who managed 99 runs.

In reply TKV managed 89 runs before losing all their wicket, handing Turangi a huge 202 run win.

In the women’s match, Turangi batted first managing a modest 113 runs from their 20 overs. In reply, the unlucky TKV were all out for 96 runs in the 13th over. Turangi won the match by 17 runs.

Defending women’s champions Matavera also made a strong start to their campaign beating Nikao by 99 runs.

Matavera batted first and scored 128 runs from their 20 overs, with four wickets down. Tina Mato was the top scorer for the side after amassing 52 runs not out.

In reply Nikao only managed to get 29 runs, all out, thanks to a superb bowling from Tokoono Pana who picked an impressive six wickets from four overs, conceding inly six runs.

In the men’s match, Nikao led by Melody Melota batted first and scored 223 from their 20 overs. Melota was the top scorer after hitting 71 runs.

In reply former champions Matavera were all out for 88 runs, handing Nikao a comfortable 152 run win.

New side K-11 made a winning debut in the men’s division overcoming Muri by four wickets.

Muri batted first and scored 120 runs from their 20 overs with Pakia Wichman top scoring at 43 runs.

John Angaino was the top bowler from K-11 after picking four wickets from three overs, conceding 20 runs.

In reply K-11 overcame the score in 16 overs with a loss of six wickets. K-11 veteran Ray Roumanu top scored with 33 runs.

In other men’s match, Arorangi defeated Tupapa while in the women’s division, Tupapa won against Arorangi.