More Top Stories

Editor's Pick
Editor's Pick

TB cases detected

1 June 2024


Alleged rapist in remand

27 April 2024

Rugby league

Moana target 2025 World Cup

11 November 2022

Clubs ready for cricket season

Friday 10 September 2021 | Written by Supplied | Published in Cricket, Sports


Clubs ready for cricket season
Former Tupapa player Wayken Punga will feature for Nikao this year. 18013016

The weekly 2021 Rarotonga Cricket Club competition will kick off this Saturday with seven women and eight men’s teams battling for the titles.

The newly-formed K-11 will be the team to be reckoned with in the men’s competition this year.

K-11 is one of the two new inclusions in the weekly competition which gets underway this weekend. The other inclusion, Muri is making a return in the women’s division this year.

K-11 is made up of former Tupapa players who featured for Matavera in the past seasons. They include the likes of veterans Ray Roumanu, Osolai Akai and Ben Vakatini.

Davis Teinaki, the chief executive officer of Cook Islands Cricket Association, says K-11 will enter the competition as underdog.

“They mostly comprise former Tupapa players who are returning back to the village and playing under the banner of K-11. They have secured a sponsorship from the On The Rock (OTR) Nightclub,” Teinaki said.

“We also have Turangi (defending champions) and Nikao who are the top favourites as well. We can also expect a tough challenge from Arorangi led by Hori Miller.”

Deacon Teapa will lead the Nikao side which is expected to have a good mix of young and experienced players, including former Tupapa skipper Wayken Punga.

Defending champions Turangi will be led by the likes of Vane Tangimetua Sr, Vane Tangimetua Jr and Richard Piakura.

Nikao will take on former champions Matavera at Matavera Field while Turangi will host TKV in round one games tomorrow.

In the other men’s matches, Arorangi will host Tupapa at Raemaru Park while Muri will battle K-11 at Nukupure Park.

In the women’s competition, defending champions Matavera and Turangi are the top bets but Teinaki expects a tough challenge from the other teams, especially Arorangi.

Matavera will host Nikao while Turangi will face TKV at Turangi Oval tomorrow. Arorangi will play Tupapa at Raemaru Park in the other women’s match in round one. The returning Muri side is on bye this weekend.

Teinaki said: “We are looking forward to this year’s competition and expecting some tough challenges in both divisions. With no clear favourites, this year’s competition will surely be an exciting one.”

The matches will kick off at 12.30pm with the women’s game followed by men’s at 3pm.


Women – Matavera vs Nikao - Matavera Field, Turangi vs TKV - Turangi Oval, Arorangi vs Tupapa - Raemaru Park, Muri – Bye.

Men – Matavera vs Nikao - Matavera Field, Turangi vs TKV - Turangi Oval, Arorangi vs Tupapa - Raemaru Park, Muri vs K-11 - Nukupure Park.