Editor's Picks


First wedding of the year

23 January 2021

Cricket history

Monday 9 December 2019 | Written by Rashneel Kumar | Published in Cricket


Matavera created a piece of cricket history after winning the men and women’s titles in the domestic competition.

Tupapa and Turangi were no match to the Matavera outfit in the Rarotonga men’s and women’s finals on Saturday.

Both teams succumbed to heavy losses as Matavera claimed a rare double, becoming the first club to win both divisions in the same year.

Matavera were also undefeated throughout the season – a feat which will be hard to replicate in the domestic competition.

In the men’s final, Turangi batted first and managed a massive 227 runs for six from their 20 overs.

Rain halted play at Matavera Cricket Ground and hesitant Tupapa, who complained about poor pitch, returned only to score 128 runs before losing all their wickets with four overs remaining.

In the women’s final, Turangi batted first but managed only 65 runs.

In reply an experienced Matavera side reached the target in nine overs after losing four wickets to record a six wicket win.

Matavera skipper Ray Roumanu said team effort resulted in this historic win.

“It’s a proud moment for the club and we look forward to celebrating our win in the prize giving (this week).”