More Top Stories

Editor's Pick

TB cases detected

1 June 2024


Alleged rapist in remand

27 April 2024

Rugby league

Moana target 2025 World Cup

11 November 2022

Kiwis dominate Round Rarotonga Road Race

Monday 26 September 2022 | Written by CI News Staff | Published in Athletics, Sports


Kiwis dominate Round Rarotonga Road Race
About 270 participants including more than 130 visitors took part in the 45th Round Rarotonga Road Race last year. MELINA ETCHES.22092416

New Zealand’s Graeme Henderson claimed the 31-kilometre Round Rarotonga Road Race on Saturday.

Henderson finished the race in 2 hours 12:53 minutes followed by fellow countrymen Nathan Jones (2.15:55 hours) and Guy Dryden (2.20:59 hours).

Rarotonga’s Rupeni Mataitonga claimed the 10km run title in a time of 39.36 minutes followed by New Zealand’s Shaun Dixon (46.57 min) and Rarotonga’s Jordan McPharlin (47.47 min).

Pip Hansen was the first female to cross the finish line in the 10km run, finishing the race in 48.09 minutes.

  • More in tomorrow’s edition