More Top Stories


Bigger and busier 2023: PM

31 December 2022

Other Sports

Double gold for Darts

21 January 2023


Population policy endorsed

10 January 2023


PM Brown vows to change law

23 January 2023

Rugby league

Moana target 2025 World Cup

11 November 2022


We’re halfway there!

16 November 2022


From the river to the ocean

18 November 2022

Who will win the awards?

Wednesday 8 April 2009 | Published in Regional


Thursday 2: Outstanding sports men and women during the 2008 sporting year will be honoured this evening at the annual Cook Islands sports awards.

This year’s awards will be hosted by the Vaka Te Au O Tonga and will be held at the Rarotonga Golf Club in Nikao starting at 6.30pm.

There are four award categories this year and due to the lack of nominations, some categories have just two nominations each.

The nominees for the 2008 sports awards are:

Sportsman of the year – Andrew Winchester (handball), Sam Pera Jnr (weightlifting), Daniel Tutai (athletics), Koiatu Koiatu (rugby sevens), Reuben Dearlove (oe vaka), Taua Elisa (sailing).

Sportswoman of the year – Tamsyn Dearlove (oe vaka), Tereapii Tapoki (athletics).

Junior sportsman – Daniel Tutai (athletics), Sirla Pera (weightlifting), Aquila Tatira (sailing), Sema Robati (rugby union), Harry Ivaiti (Tereora College), Evaraima Koteka (oe vaka).

Junior sportswoman – Teiti-O-Te-Ra Tupuna (Tupapa sports association), Emilene Taulu (oe vaka), Patricia Taea (athletics).

Sports team of the year – Atiu men’s lawn bowls triples team, Cook Islands Handball senior men’s team.

Sports achievement of the year award – Teiti-O-Te-Ra Tupuna (Tupapa-Maraerenga sports association), Cook Islands Handball senior men’s team, Sirla Pera (weightlifting), Vaivase Samania (rugby union), Christina Newport (oe vaka), Patricia Taea (athletics), Cook Islands women’s golf team, Vaka Eiva.

Fair Play award –Cook Islands Handball senior men’s team, Tina Mitchell (oe vaka).

IOC sports personality award – Uritaua I Tai Keu Mitchell (handball), Annie Goodwin (handball), Vaivase Samania (rugby union), Ella Nicholas (kayaking/canoeing), Ake Hosea-Winterflood (athletics).

Women in sport trophy – Uritaua I Tai Keu Mitchell (handball), Annie Goodwin (handball), Patricia Taea (athletics), Ake Hosea-Winterflood (athletics).

Sports technical official of the year – Shawn Rowan Numa Fatialofa (handball), Ake Bartley (handball), Johnny Hosking (rugby union), Judy Warner (sailing), Pamela Maru (oe vaka).

Sports administrator of the year – Christina Newport (oe vaka), Shawn Rowan Numa Fatialofa (handball), Ake Bartley (handball), Annie Goodwin (handball).

Sports coach of the year – Andrew Winchester (handball), Peter John (handball), Vaea Melvin (oe vaka), Jim Britjin (sailing).

Best administered outer island sports association – Aitutaki Sports Association, Aitutaki Sailing Club.

Best outer island sports achievement award – Daniel Tutai (Aitutaki/athletics), Taua Elisa (Manihiki/sailing). Manea zone sportsman of the year – Daniel Tutai (Aitutaki/athletics), Aquila Tatira (Aitutaki/sailing).

Manea zone sportswoman of the year – Tereapii Tapoki (Mauke/athletics), Sarah Enoka (Aitutaki/athletics).

Purapura zone sportsman of the year – Taua Elisa (Manihiki/sailing). - Matariki Wilson