More Top Stories

Editor's Pick

TB cases detected

1 June 2024


Alleged rapist in remand

27 April 2024

Rugby league

Moana target 2025 World Cup

11 November 2022

Tricky techniques in time trial

Monday 19 March 2012 | Published in Regional


A strong performance from the starting line has seen Andre Tutaka-George put in the best time during the second week of oe vaka trials last week.

Again battling strong easterly winds during the race, although the sea swells that proved testing during the first race were absent, Tutaka-George managed to overcome the conditions and the field to clock in a time of 38 minutes, 14 seconds to win.

The previous week’s winner Ruben Dearlove did not contest the second-round race, which saw Tutaka-George improve his effort by one minute in his V1.

Like Tutaka-George, second-place Josh Burrell powered from start to finish in his OC1, finishing in 39:29.82.

The race wasn’t without its incidents, though.

New surfski paddler Mita Morouna flipped on the way to the first mark directly in front of a competitor.

The man following crashed into him and holed his Raro Fried Chicken V1. His race was over and he had to limp back to the harbour.

He was especially upset as he was “feeling really good and was looking forward bettering his time from the previous week”.

Meanwhile, Aussie Paul Pearson tried a new V1 turning technique at the top mark that had his fellow-racers watching on curiously.

The ‘technique’ included him jumping out of his canoe, reportedly doing some synchronised swimming then returning to the canoe. Probably won’t be used next week.

In the surfski division, Tungane Manual posted the best result with 41 minutes.

Results: CICA Time Trial Results, March 14: Andre Tutaka-George, TT, V1, 38.14.82; Josh Burrell, TT, OC1, 39.29.82; John Beasley, NTV, V1, 40.34.42; Tungane Manual, NTV, SS, 41.00.53; Sani Sosene, TT, OC1, 41.07.64; Corey Fisher, TT, OC1, 41.24.89; Paul Pearson, NTV, V1, 41.50.82; Marouna Mita, TT, SS, 43.22.75; Johnny Raita, TT, OC1, 43.54.35; Marc Cowan, TT, OC1, 43.54.35; Kees Van Wijk, TT, OC1, 45.17.35; Rob Grant, TT, OC1, 47.52.06; Chrissy Thomas, NTV, OC1, 51.47.46; Kirsten Willis, NTV, OC1, 52.22.28; Annie Fisher, TT, OC1, 54.51.17; Queenie Tamariki, LF, OC1, 55.54.32.