More Top Stories


Bigger and busier 2023: PM

31 December 2022

Other Sports

Double gold for Darts

21 January 2023


Population policy endorsed

10 January 2023


PM Brown vows to change law

23 January 2023

Rugby league

Moana target 2025 World Cup

11 November 2022


We’re halfway there!

16 November 2022


From the river to the ocean

18 November 2022

Remembering the suffering and death of Christ

Saturday 8 April 2023 | Written by Melina Etches | Published in Local, National


Remembering the suffering and death of Christ
Carl Glassie led the St Joseph’s Catholic parish ‘Stations of the Cross’ yesterday morning which started from the court house to the cathedral. MELINA ETCHES/23040705

Roman Catholics observed Good Friday yesterday by praying the Stations of the Cross, silencing their church bells, and leaving their altars bare as the Church mourns the crucifixion of Jesus Christ.

Led by Carl Glassie, the St Joseph’s Catholic parish started their walk carrying the cross for their Stations of the Cross – in a devotion to the suffering and death of Jesus – yesterday morning from the Ministry of Justice court house to the Avarua cathedral for the concluding prayer.

Every year at 4am on Good Friday the Catholic Diocese of Rarotonga youth begin their solemn walk from St Joseph’s Cathedral. This year several groups included those representing the Pa Enua took turns carrying the cross around Rarotonga.

The Stations of the Cross, also known as the Way of the Cross or Via Crucis, commemorate Jesus’ passion and death on the cross.

The 14 Stations of the Cross each depict a moment on Jesus’ journey to Calvary, usually through prayers, and reflections. These are: 1st Jesus is condemned to death, 2nd Jesus carries His cross, 3rd Jesus falls the first time, 4th Jesus meets His Mother, 5th Simon of Cyrene helps Jesus to carry his cross, 6th Veronica wipes the face of Jesus, 7th Jesus falls the second time, 8th Jesus meets the women of Jerusalem, 9th Jesus falls a third time, 10th Jesus clothes are taken away, 11th Jesus is nailed to the cross, 12th Jesus dies on the cross, 13th The body of Jesus is taken down from the cross and 14th Jesus is laid in the tomb.

The Holy Saturday evening Catholic church services are as follows: Sacred Heart Matavera at 6.30pm, St. Paul’s Titikaveka at 7pm, St. Joseph’s Cathedral at 8pm, St Mary’s Arorangi at 9pm; Easter Sunday - Sacred Heart Matavera at 8am, St. Joseph’s Cathedral at 10am (Children’s Mass), St. Mary’s Arorangi at 10am, St. Paul’s Titikaveka at 10.30am.