More Top Stories

Rugby Union

Bigger and busier 2023: PM

31 December 2022

Rugby league

Moana target 2025 World Cup

11 November 2022

Women’s team off to Oceania Football Nations Cup

Thursday 7 July 2022 | Written by Supplied | Published in Soccer, Sports


Women’s team off to Oceania Football Nations Cup
Cook Islands-based players at the Rarotonga International Airport before leaving for New Zealand on Tuesday. CIFA MEDIA/22070601

Players from Tupapa Maraerenga FC dominate the 20-member national women’s squad heading to Fiji for the 2022 OFC Women’s Nations Cup.

Cook Islands head coach Gary Phillips has selected his 20-player squad for the 2022 OFC Women’s Nations Cup.

Representatives from clubs across the Cook Islands make up the bulk of those selected, but Phillips has also called upon the high pool of talent available to him in New Zealand to flesh out the squad.

Prospective players trialled for a place in the team at the CIFA training grounds in early June and those lucky enough to be selected will fly out to Fiji from New Zealand on July 7.

“We are happy we had the opportunity to assess the NZ-based players,” said Phillips regarding the recent trial period.

“But of course, one week is never enough. We are making progress but it is difficult with 10 players based in New Zealand. It has been a challenge monitoring the players’ individual development, but we are pleased with the attitude and commitment.”

The Cook Islands have been drawn in Group A for the upcoming competition, alongside Tonga and Samoa.

Their first fixture will be against Tonga on Sunday, July 16 before facing Samoa three days later on Tuesday, July 19.

The top two teams from each of the three groups in Fiji will advance to the quarter-finals, alongside the two best-performing third-placed teams. The final takes place on Sunday, July 30 from the HFC Bank Stadium in Suva.

The full Cook Islands squad for the OFC Women’s Nations Cup is below:

Piri Murare (Avatiu FC), Simone Nicholas (Puaikura FC), Claudean Robati (Tupapa Maraerenga FC), Teretia Teinaki (Tupapa Maraerenga FC/Manukau FC), Adriana Hauser (Tupapa Maraerenga FC/Aitutaki), Anzia Tere (Avatiu FC), Elizabeth Harmon (Tupapa Maraerenga Fc/Ellerslie FC), Kayleena Kermode (Tupapa Maraerenga FC), Kimberly Uini (Matavera-Ngatangiia FC), Kuramaeva Tare (Tupapa Maraerenga FC/Aitutaki), Lyric Davison (Ellerslie AFC), Ngamata Moekaa (Puaikura FC/Manukau FC), Matila Makikiriti (Puaikura FC), Penina Katuke (Titikaveka FC), Tanga Morris (Matavera-Ngatangiia FC), Tayla-Jeanne Hetherington (Manukau FC), Thea Keith-Mathchitt (Lakes FC), Tia Strickland (Tupapa Maraerenga FC), Tineke De Jong (Ellerslie FC), Victoria Fatiaki (Puaikura FC).