Editor's Picks


The cream of the crop

Thursday 1 April 2021 | Written by CI News Staff | Published in Other Sports, Sports


The cream of the crop
George George lights the cauldron at last year's Cook Islands Games opening ceremony. TOKERAU JIM /20101631.

Cook Islands Sports and National Olympic Committee has included the Masters category in the annual sports awards.

The 2021 Cook Islands Sports Awards will be held at The Edgewater Resort and Spa on Sunday, April 11, starting at 6pm.

And for the first time, organisers Cook Islands Sports and National Olympic Committee will reward Masters athletes.

The Masters Sportsman and Sportswoman of the Year and Team of the Year are among 20 awards that will be presented to top local athletes, administrators and teams at the event.

CISNOC secretary general Owen Lewis said: “We have been recognising youth and open athletes but never recognised our masters for their contribution to sports. It should have been done long time ago but we have realised it and done something about it.”

“We are trying to promote sports for life and recognising our masters for their excellent performances really reflects this.”

The nominees for the sports awards are being judged on their performance throughout the 2020 sporting year.

But Lewis said performances of the nominees at the Cook Islands Games in October last year will be key to determining the winners.

“Given that few events occurred you would assume that the performances at the Cook Islands Games will contribute heavily to the overall decisions,” he said.

“There weren’t any international events last year (due to Covid), so the focus will be domestic competitions.”

Middle distance runner Alex Beddoes, who helped Mauke win the 2020 Cook Islands Games title, is the top contender for the Sportsman of the Year award. The other nominees are Jerome Namikaze-Tura (weightlifting), Brendon Heath (volleyball), Conrad Piri (touch rugby) and Brett Baudinet (tennis).

For the Sportswoman of the Year award, former national sprinter Patricia Taea will be up against Jamie Gotty, Danielle Adendorff, Alyce Edwards, Rima Browne and Ruby Pierre.

Mauke Island is the top favourites for the Sports Team of the Year. The other nominees for this award are Pukapuka Sevens, Mitiaro Badminton, Mangaia Womens Soccer, Atiu U16s Volleyball and Atiu Mens Soccer.

Lewis says tickets are selling fast and “to avoid disappointment, I suggest people buy their tickets now than leaving it until the last minute”.

Tickets will cost $60 per person and includes meal and the cultural show. Tickets are available at CISNOC office, call Taa Pera at 24095 or email admin@cisnoc.org.ck. 

Lewis said: “We are still discussing with the potential guests speakers. We are looking forward to celebrating the brilliant performances of our athletes and teams especially those at the Cook Islands Games.”


Sportsman of the Year – Jerome Namikaze-Tura, Brendon Heath, Conrad Piri, Alex Beddoes, Brett Baudinet;

Sportswoman of the Year – Patricia Taea, Jamie Gotty, Danielle Adendorff, Alyce Edwards, Rima Browne, Ruby Pierre;

Junior Sportsman of the Year – Nuku Mokoroa, Kohl Tamarua-Horton, Darius Allsworth, Emmanuela Mataio, Pareura Katoa;

Junior Sportswoman of the Year – Kuramaeva Tare, Jade Tierney, Estelle Short, Briseis Crighton, Ruby Pierre, Tereapii Akavi, Marenga Tua;

Sports Technical Official of the Year – Paul-Luiz Van Eijk, Tua Manea (Papa Moa), Tutai Herman, Anau Manarangi; Sports Fair Play Award – Paul-Luiz Van Eijk, Brendon Heath; Sports Coach of the Year – Emilene Taulu, Clive Nicholas, Malcom Kajer, Luisa Lani Peters; Sports Administrator of the Year – Jason Linsin, Teina Taulu, Erin Quirke, Jackie Rongo, Daphne Brown,  Roland Neururer; Sports Team of the Year – Pukapuka Sevens, Mitiaro Badminton, Mangaia Womens Soccer, Atiu U16s Volleyball, Atiu Mens Soccer, Mauke Island; Sports Achievement of the Year – Mauke (CI Games), Atiu U16 Volleyball (CI Games), Te Pa O Te Rangi Tupa; Masters Sportswoman of the Year – Serena Hunter, Lady Tuaine Marster, Teina Taulu; Masters Sportsman of the Year – Kora Kora, Ned Howard, Roland Neururer, Munroe Hockin; Masters Team of the Year – Aitutaki Masters Mens Golf Team, Manihiki Masters Volleyball Team, Rarotonga Masters Basketball Team, Rarotonga Masters Touch Team; Manea Zone Sportswoman of the Year – Marenga Tua, Lina Porio, Kuramaeva Tare; Manea Zone Sportsman of the Year – Hugh Henry, Joseph Porio, Marc Punua; IOC Sports Personality Award – Romani Katoa, Hugh Graham; Purapura Zone Sportsman of the Year – Taua Elisa, John Auora Junior, Yala Manila, Kora Christian Kora; Purapura Zone Sportswoman of the Year – Helena Williams, Lawrencia Williams, Taitua Tuaeu, Tori Ellison; Best Outer Island Achievement – Mauke (CI Games), Mangaia (CI Games), Atiu U16 Volleyball; Best Administrated Outer Island Sports Association of the Year – Mauke, Aitutaki, Mangaia Reps (Annie Kauvaivai/Tangee), Kuraiti & Saungaki.