More Top Stories


Bigger and busier 2023: PM

31 December 2022

Other Sports

Double gold for Darts

21 January 2023


Population policy endorsed

10 January 2023


PM Brown vows to change law

23 January 2023

Rugby league

Moana target 2025 World Cup

11 November 2022


We’re halfway there!

16 November 2022


From the river to the ocean

18 November 2022

Womens squad selected

Saturday 16 July 2011 | Published in Regional


The Cook Islands national womens soccer squad has been selected to take part in the Pacific Games in New Caledonia from August 27 to September 10.

Around 19 players have been given the opportunity to prove their significance to represent their country at the games.

Twelve of the players are based here in Rarotonga, while 2 players are based in Aitutaki and 5 players are based in New Zealand. Most of the players have already represented the Cook Islands at the OFC Nations cup held in New Zealand last year.

Head coach, Jimmy Katoa, who is assisted by Michelle Paiti, has been given the task of preparing the team with intense training and fitness programmes before heading off to New Caledonia.

Assistant coach Michelle Paiti said, although we are ranked 5th in the region behind Papua New Guinea, Tonga, Fiji and Tahiti our aim is to win a medal.

The training squad commenced their training in late April early May where the players were put through technical and endurance training. Up-and-coming talent Linade Unuka from the Arorangi football club is only 15 years old and is delighted that she has been selected again to represent the Cook Islands. The youngster says she is keen to impress the coaching staff during the tournament. I am honoured to be selected again in the national team. It is a very proud moment for me and I want to do my country proud, Unuka said.

The national Cook Islands womens squad list are as follows: Marjorie Toru (Avatiu), Jennifer Akavi (Nikao), Linade Unuka (Arorangi), Marissa Iroa (Tupapa), Elizabeth Harmon (Tupapa), Leiana Temata (Titikaveka), Louisa Manico (Avatiu), Poko Manuela (Nikao), Salamata Takai (Titikaveka), Mii Piri (Tupapa), Josephine Turepu (Tupapa), Tasha Dean (Arorangi) , Tekura Kaukura (Aitutaki), Tepaeru Toka (Aitutaki), Mama Henry (NZ), Dayna Napa (NZ), Courtney Napa (NZ) and Tekura Tutai (NZ).

Team management is head coach, Jimmy Katoa, assisted by Michelle Paiti and Angela Wallbank and team manager John Taripo.