More Top Stories


Bigger and busier 2023: PM

31 December 2022

Other Sports

Double gold for Darts

21 January 2023


Population policy endorsed

10 January 2023


PM Brown vows to change law

23 January 2023

Rugby league

Moana target 2025 World Cup

11 November 2022


We’re halfway there!

16 November 2022


From the river to the ocean

18 November 2022

Heavy weather forces early Te Aito start

Friday 25 May 2012 | Published in Regional


Heavy rain and winds heading our way have forced Te Aito Cook Islands organisers to rearrange their schedule for this weekend’s race.

With weather conditions expected to worsen over the weekend – the Te Aito Vaine race for women will now be held today starting at 4pm and the Te Aito Tane race for men and under 19 paddlers has been brought forward to first thing Saturday morning.

Nine women will tackle the 14km race across triangular course starting from Avarua harbour and in what will be choppy seas and windy conditions.

Vesna Rabonich is the sole international female paddler registered for the race and will take on local women Tara Cumming (open V1), Annie Fisher (master OC1), Serena Hunter (master V1), Vaea Melvin (open V1), Jane Pearson (master V1), Aitutaki paddler Tuangaru Rimatu (open V1), Chrissy Thomas (master V1) and Kirsten Willis (master OC1).

Te Aito Tane for open, master and under 19 paddlers will start at 9am on Saturday before the weather is expected to become worse in the afternoon.

International male paddlers here to contest Te Aito Cook Islands are Thomas Hauata and Taaroaiti Teheiura of Tahiti, Clayton Wikaira from Aotearoa and New Zealand based Cook Islands paddler Rhei Pare.

The four international paddlers will join 16 local male paddlers in the open and masters division on the start line along with three under 19 paddlers including Dylan Schofield from Aitutaki.

Te Aito, the premier V1 rudderless oe vaka race in the country, is a spectator friendly event where the on and off water action can be caught at Avarua harbour.

Te Aito organisers would like to thank all the sponsors of the event for all your support.