More Top Stories


Bigger and busier 2023: PM

31 December 2022

Other Sports

Double gold for Darts

21 January 2023


Population policy endorsed

10 January 2023


PM Brown vows to change law

23 January 2023

Rugby league

Moana target 2025 World Cup

11 November 2022


We’re halfway there!

16 November 2022


From the river to the ocean

18 November 2022

College sevens sides set the pace

Thursday 3 November 2011 | Published in Regional


Tereora College rugby sevens boys and girls cleaned up yesterdays Pacific Computers under 15 college sevens tournament in extremely trying conditions.

Under the blazing sun and on a dry and solid BCI Stadium field both the Tereora boys and girls team proved too strong for their opponents from Rakei Toa, Titikaveka College and Nukutere College.

By far the best team on the day was the Tereora College under 15 girls team who displayed outstanding skills and guts.

The side was ably led by the tough and talented Lynade Unuka who was well supported by her line breaking forwards Tu Te Maeva Poaru and Eitiare Enoka as well as the speediest winger in the tournament Teiti Tupuna.

In fact, the slight but elusive runner scored a try every time she got hold of the ball.

While the national college girls team were in a class of their own both the Nukutere and Titikaveka College sides showed great promise for future tournaments.

In the final of the girls division Tereora put away Titikaveka 19-5 but Titikaveka will still feel proud of the fact they scored a try against the Tereora powerhouse team.

In the boys division the Tereora boys followed in the girls footsteps by winning all their games to face a tenacious Titikaveka side in the grand finals.

But the heat of the day had taken its toll on the Titikaveka who try as they might could not stem the onslaught of tries by the Tereora side who took out the match and boys division 25-0.

Congratulations to all the teams for a fantastic tournament organised as the lead in for today day one of the International Sevens in Heaven tournament which starts with the team parade at 2pm and the first game at 4pm.