Editor's Picks


CI Games programme set

Wednesday 1 April 2009 | Published in Regional


Tuesday 31: Cook Islands Games competition managers met yesterday to finalise the competition schedule for the week-long games that start with an opening ceremony on Friday April 3 at Te Atukura Grounds.

Minor changes have been made to a number of the 19 codes’ venues and competition days while the plans for the opening and closing ceremony were confirmed.

The opening ceremony will begin at 3.30pm with the arrival of all teams and invited guests at Te Atukura Grounds in Parekura.

The traditional turou (welcome) for dignitaries and sports teams will be conduced by the Puaikura team.

The teams competing in the Cook Islands Games are Aitutaki, Rakahanga, Mitiaro, Penrhyn, Te Au O Tonga, Pukapuka, Mangaia, Palmerston, Mauke, Puaikura, Atiu, Manihiki and Takitumu.

On the agenda for the opening ceremony will be the raising of the ceremonial Cook Islands Games flag, and speeches by Cook Islands Sports and National Olympic Committee president Tiki Matapo and prime minister Jim Marurai.

The speeches will be followed by the lighting of the games flame which will depart the CISNOC office and be carried along the main road to Te Atukura Grounds.

Six torch bearers have been selected to carry the touch from the CISNOC office to the ceremony grounds and these are Conrad Piri, Mou Tokorangi, Daniel Tutai, Tamsyn Dearlove, Teina Savage and Sam Pera Jnr.

The games closing ceremony will be held on the final day of competition, April 11, starting at 6pm at the National

Auditorium. - MW