More Top Stories


Bigger and busier 2023: PM

31 December 2022

Other Sports

Double gold for Darts

21 January 2023


Population policy endorsed

10 January 2023


PM Brown vows to change law

23 January 2023

Rugby league

Moana target 2025 World Cup

11 November 2022


We’re halfway there!

16 November 2022


From the river to the ocean

18 November 2022

8km time to beat 37:06

Saturday 5 May 2012 | Published in Regional


Lots of surf, missing jandals and loose ama made for much to discuss after Wednesday’s second to last 8km oe vaka time trial.

Reuben Dearlove continues his domination in the weekly event crossing the line first in his V1 vaka with a resounding ‘boom’ roar and clocking 37.06.

Young oe vaka protg Andre Tutaka-George, paddling in a V1, battled over most of the course with Josh Burrell on his OC1 vaka and rounding the Boiler the pair were neck and neck but it was Burrell who snuck in to take second overall and first OC1 home in 40.21 followed by Tutaka-George in 40.26 to take out second in the V1.

Serena Hunter was the lead female in an OC1 clocking a time of 46.02 with sole V1 female paddler Jane Pearson coming home in 55 minutes.

The majority of the paddlers are gearing up for the Te Aito Cook Islands on May 26 with gun paddlers heading to the rock from New Zealand and Tahiti as the annual oe vaka event, now on the Te Aito world circuit, grows in popularity.

Next Wednesday will be the last time trial race before the handicap race on May 16.

Paddlers must have raced in at least six time trials to be eligible to compete in the handicap race.

Meanwhile the postponed 12km for singles and mixed V6 crews, scheduled for last Saturday, will now be raced today and any changes will be circulated prior to the race to be hosted by the Live Free club.

Results: OC1 – Burrell Josh (TT) 40:21:00, Raita John (TT)42:22:00, Sosene Sani (TT) 42:24:00, Cowan Marc (TT) 43:30:00, Hunter Serena (NTV) 46:02:00, Grant Rob (TT) 46:12:00, Thomas Chrissy (NTV) 53:57:00, Willis Kirsten (NTV) 54:53:00, V1 –Dearlove Reuben (TT) 37:06:00, Tutaka-George Andre (TT) 40:26:00, Pearson Paul NTV (M) 42:35:00, Melvin Fletcher (NTV) 45:49:00, Teheitapuarii Daniel (NTV) 52:19:00, Pearson Jane (NTV) 55:00:00, Beasley John (NTV) DNF.