Largest field, top times at tri

Tuesday 6 May 2014 | Published in Other Sports


Largest field, top times at tri
Air New Zealand manager David Bridge congratulates tri winner David Vernon. 14050529

The 20th Air New Zealand International Triathlon held on Saturday was well supported, with the highest ever number of competitors at 178 – comprising 106 individuals and 27 teams of two and three persons.

This bettered the 2010 record of 137 competitors.

First held in 1995 with a total of just 26 competitors, the event has provided a focus point for local athletes to aim for each year.

In recent years, a handful of the better local athletes have competed very well with highly ranked overseas visitors to the event.

This year the top three females were all Rarotonga residents with 5th overall male Roland Neururer also from Rarotonga.

The first three men were all previous overall winners of the event – Dave Vernon (NZ) in 2013, Steve Farrell (NZ) in 2011 and 2012 and Yoann Hotellier (Tahiti) in 2002 and 2004.

For the women, both Vanessa Woodger and Serena Hunter were previous winners in 2013 and 2007 respectively.

Team category winners were: female team – Last Minute Dash (NZ), male team - Aces High (Cooks), veteran team - Her & Him (NZ), open/ mixed Team – Young Smiths, and junior team – The Hof.

The fastest splits of the day were: swim – Dave Vernon 20:07, cycle – Dave Vernon 1:03:49 and run – Steve Farrell 40:23.

The fastest local triathlete splits were: swim – Vanessa Woodger 24:04, cycle – Geoff Stoddart 1:07:31, and run – Roland Neururer 42:51.

The Triathlon Association extends its thanks to its major sponsors Air New Zealand, The Edgewater Resort & Spa, Island Car & Bike Hire, Westpac Banking Corporation, The Computerman, Pukekohe Travel, Cook Islands Trading Corporation and Vaima Island Water as well as its appreciation for the valuable staff assistance given by these businesses.