Baudinet, Taea win top awards

Monday 22 October 2018 | Written by Jaimie Keay | Published in Other Sports


Brett Baudinet and Patricia Taea claimed the Sportsman and Sportswoman of the Year awards, respectively, at the Cook Islands Sports Awards 2018 yesterday.

The event, which recognised the achievements of local athletes and officials, was held at the Edgewater Resort and Spa.

Baudinet, the national tennis star, became the first player to play 50 Davis Cup ties for Pacific Oceania last year.

He has also been added to the International Tennis Federation (ITF) Honours Board in London along the likes of international tennis star Roger Federer.

National sprinter Taea had a glorious 2017 season after winning gold medal in the 200-metre sprint at the Pacific Mini Games in Vanuatu.

The Sports Team of the Year went to the women 3x3 basketball team, which also won a gold medal at the Mini Games last year. The team also claimed the Women in Sports Trophy.

The Sports Achievement of the Year Award went to the national women rugby league team to the World Cup 2017.

Tennis coach Malcolm Kajer claimed the Coach of the Year award.

The Junior Sportswoman of the Year award went to young netballer Daimzel Rongokea while Carlos Taua Heather claimed the Junior Sportsman of the Year.

The sports award featured two guest speakers of Cook Islands descent – professional golfer Phillis Meti and international rugby player Ryan Nicholas.


Manea Games Sportswoman of the Year – Kuramaeva Tare, Manea Games Sportsman of the Year – Tuakana Mataiti, Pa Enua Sports Association of the Year – Mitiaro Sports Association, Pa Enua Sports Achievement Award – Motu 2 Motu Aitutaki, Women in Sports Trophy – Women 3x3 Basketball, Sports Achievement of the Year Award – Women Rugby League World Cup 2017, Sports Technical Official of the Year – John Pareanga – CI Football, Sports Administrator of the Year – Ahkim Tikaroa, Sports Coach of the Year –Malcolm Kajer, Fair Play Award – Rochelle Teiri, Junior Sportswoman of the Year – Daimzel Rongokea, Junior Sportsman of the Year – Carlos Taua Heather, International Olympic Committee Sports Personality Award – Lee Harmon, Sports Team of the Year – Women 3x3 Basketball, Sportswoman of the Year – Patricia Taea, Sportsman of the Year – Brett Baudinet, Services to Sport – Teaea Parima.