Editor's Picks


Cook Islands News Awards

4 December 2021


Building a better future

4 December 2021


A decade of dominance: Thrills and spills of junior athletics

Saturday 2 October 2021 | Written by Melina Etches | Published in Athletics, Local, National, Sports


A decade of dominance: Thrills and spills of junior athletics
Apii Arorangi junior girls long jumper. 21093029.

Apii Avarua has retained the Prince of Wales Primary Schools Athletics trophy for 11 years in a row after winning the 2021 edition on Wednesday at the National Stadium in Nikao.

Apii Avarua principal Engia Baxter complimented the school’s teachers for putting in the time to train the students who continue to dominate the local athletics scene at the annual event.

The parents and families of the students have also spent their own time with their kids after school coaching and supporting their children at the national stadium, said Baxter.

“Seeing the encouragement from the parents, grandparents and the community for the kids has been great.”

Although Apii Avarua has the largest primary school roll number on Rarotonga, “we do put in the hard yards and hard work to prepare for the Prince of Wales event,” Baxter said.

Apii Avarua dominated the athletic event with an overwhelming 893 points, followed by the second overall winner and hosts Apii Nikao with 563 points, and Apii St Joseph’s/Nukutere College with 455 points.

Rarotonga schools who participated in the event were; Apii Nikao, Apii Arorangi, Apii Te Uki Ou, Apii Imanuela Akatemia, Apii Rutaki, Papaaroa Adventist School, Apii Takitumu, Titikaveka College, St Joseph’s School and Nukutere College.

The 2021 Prince of Wales Primary Schools Athletics Awards are as follows:

Preschool Girls Champion Miriama Piri - Papaaroa school; Preschool Boys Champion Teruan Napa- Apii Avarua; Preschool Overall Champion School - Apii Avarua. Junior Girls Champion Moana Sky Napa - Apii Avarua; Junior Boys Champion Hezekiah Iroa - Apii Avarua; Junior Overall Champion School Apii Avarua. Intermediate Girls Champion Vaine Moeroa Tauira -St. Joseph; Intermediate Boys Champion Samuel Ravuaceva Aiganalua Samania - St. Joseph; Intermediate Overall Champion School - Apii Avarua and Apii Nikao. Senior Girls Champion Tajiana Areai - Apii Avarua; Senior Boys Champion Tahitoa Napa - Apii Avarua; Senior Overall Champion School Apii Avarua. The Most Behaved School award sponsored by ‘Mongoose’ Nia Heather was presented to Apii Rutaki.

Vaihere Mitchell of Apii Te Uki Ou. 21093030.

Senior Boys athletes from Nukutere college, Apii Nikao, Apii Avarua. 21093026.

St Joseph’s school intermediate relay girls. 21093028.

Apii Avarua Senior Girls athletes from left: Georgina Marsters, Lafala Va’ai and Moe-Arii Opuariki. 21093027.

St Joseph’s/Nukutere College received the 3rd overall championship trophy presented by CISNOC. 21093031.

Senior Girls 200m relay event, Titikaveka college and Papaaroa Seventh Day Adventist representatives. 21093021.

Senior Girls 100 meters final. From left: 1st Tashi Kopu Apii Avarua, 2nd Billie Jamie Lee Pio Apii Nikao and 3rd Tauariki Nia Apii St Joseph’s. 21093024.

Apii Nikao placed second overall in the Prince of Wales Primary Schools Athletics competition, the trophy was awarded by the Minister of Sports Vaine (Mac) Mokoroa. 21093023.

Tatjuana Areai from Apii Avarua was awarded the Senior Women’s Champion trophy from CITC general manager Gaye Whitta. 21093022.

Intermediate girls from Apii St Joseph’s and Apii Avarua. 21092923.

Junior girls Emily Ataera from Apii Rutaki (left) and Ngametua from Apii Takitumu. 21092920.

Ezra Best from Apii Imanuela Akatemia. 21092907.

Junior seven-year-old boys Tinokura Wong from Apii Takitumu, Phillip Mataio from Apii Nikao, James Jessie from Apii Avarua and Traveller Aerepo from Apii Arorangi. 21092903.