More Top Stories

Rugby Union

Bigger and busier 2023: PM

31 December 2022

Rugby league

Moana target 2025 World Cup

11 November 2022

PR recipients join in ceremony on Rarotonga

Monday 12 December 2022 | Written by Supplied | Published in Local, National


PR recipients join in ceremony on Rarotonga
The recipients of the PR ceremony held on Rarotonga last week. 22121106

Fourteen remaining recipients of permanent residency (PR) have be awarded their PR certificates during a ceremony to be held at the VIP lounge of the Rarotonga International Airport.

Last week’s ceremony marked the completion of PR awards for this year, with most of the recipients receiving their certificates during the ceremony held in July at the National Auditorium.

During the ceremony, each recipient was invited to receive their certificates as per the Immigration Act 2021 after reciting the Oath of Allegiance to the Cook Islands in the presence of His Excellency, Sir Tom Marsters, King's Representative.

The recipients had been unable to attend the July ceremony as they had been temporarily out of country at the time for medical, work or family reasons.

The criteria for those applying in their own right and as spouses of Cook Islanders and permanent residents included having lived continuously in the Cook Islands for at least five years or more for New Zealand citizens, and ten years or more for all other nationals.

“We are pleased to be able to deliver this ceremony at the convenience of the King's Representative and congratulate the recipients on receiving their award,” said Principal Immigration Officer, Kairangi Samuela.

Included in the ceremony was the awarding of two honorary permanent residents nominated by Minister of Health, the Hon. Rose Toki-Brown.

Honorary permanent residency awards recognise the contributions made by recipients to the Cook Islands, and is a special honour that acknowledges that recipients do not live in the Cook Islands and would not qualify under normal PR criteria.

Thirty-six individuals have received the Cook Islands Honorary Permanent Resident award, most for their contributions in the health sector.

Of the 14 recipients of PR that were awarded last week, nine hold passports for New Zealand, two hold passports for Australia, and one person holds a passport for Germany.

As provided for by the Immigration Act 2021, applications for PR are considered every three years, with the next round of invitations open in 2025.

The Immigration Act 2021 provides for a maximum number of 500 holders of PR at any given time, and an unlimited number for spouses of Cook Islanders.