Nikao, Turangi through to finals

Friday 30 November 2018 | Written by Rashneel Kumar | Published in Cricket


Nikao and Turangi have made it through to the finals of the Rarotonga Cricket Club competition.

In the men’s playoffs last Saturday, Nikao had a close win against Turangi to advance into the final. Defending champion Turangi thumped Matavera in the women’s playoff to also make it through to the showdown.

Against an impressive Turangi side, Nikao had to work hard in the second innings to record a win at home.

Nikao batted first and scored 106 runs all out in the 18th over. Taupa Melota was the top scorer for Nikao, amassing 30 runs.

The total proved hard to defend for Turangi after Nikao put together one of the best fielding efforts, restricting them to 99 runs all out and claiming a close seven-run win.

Turangi has another chance to make the final. The side will have to beat defending champions Tupapa, who beat Matavera in the other playoff, in this Saturday’s semi-final.

Against Tupapa at home, Matavera batted first and scored 143 runs from their 20 overs.

In reply, Tupapa overcame the Matavera score with an over to spare, winning the match by four wickets.

In the women’s top four playoff, Turangi and Matavera match at Turangi Oval failed to live up to the expectation.

Matavera won the toss and decided to bat first, however, their decision didn't go well as the top four batswomen were out without scoring a run.

Only Phillica Maruariki (28 runs) and Apii Tangata (11) scored double figures to give something for the team to defend. Matavera were all out for 74 in the 17th over.

In reply, Turangi wasted no time overcoming the Matavera total in the 13th over.

Mona More, who scored 23 runs, and Makiroa (26) were superb with the bat, handing Turangi an eight wicket win.

Matavera still has a chance to make the final when the side faces Nikao this weekend.

Nikao defeated Tupapa by 35 runs in the other playoff to keep their title hopes alive.

The side didn't start well with the bat as both of their openers were out early. However, a brilliant batting from their number four Teremaki, who scored 47 runs, gave them some hope. Nikao managed 102 runs for eight.

In reply, Tupapa batting was poorly executed as they lost wickets regularly in their chase, giving Nikao a 35 run win.

Meanwhile, Tupapa II has entered the Cook Islands Cricket history books after becoming the first team to score 300 runs in a local Twenty20 match in the men’s bottom five playoff against Nikao II.


Women’s Bottom 3: Takuvaine versus Avana at Happy Valley – Takuvaine batted first, they were all out for 84 runs from 16 overs. Top scorer was Vaine Urirau with 27 runs. Avana didn't perform well with the bat as they normally do throughout the season and was bowled out for 62 runs. Takuvaine won the match by 22 runs and got crowned winners of the bottom three.

Men’s Bottom 5 Playoff: Arorangi versus Tavana at Raemaru Park – Arorangi defeated Tavana to advance to the next playoff against Tupapa II.

Nikao II versus Tupapa II at Turangi Oval – Tupapa II batted first and scored a team total of 312 runs from their 20overs. It was the highest T20 score this year. Tamuera Peua scored 138 runs not out and Poti Maeva managed 104. Nikao II in reply, only managed 101 runs, giving Tupapa II a whopping 211 runs win.