More Top Stories

Rugby Union

Bigger and busier 2023: PM

31 December 2022

Rugby league

Moana target 2025 World Cup

11 November 2022

Cricket Domestic season starts, Women’s team return from international game

Friday 15 September 2023 | Written by Losirene Lacanivalu | Published in Cricket, Sports


Cricket Domestic season starts, Women’s team return from international game
Cook Islands 2023 Women’s Team. 23091407

The T20 Domestic Season starts tomorrow (September 16) with the Men’s opening match.

Cook Islands Cricket Association (CICA)President Grant Walker said: “We enter this season on a positive note with an early start.  Last year due to the men’s tour we started in Mid-October and it caused the season to run into 2023.  We wanted to correct by getting underway now to finish with our Grand Final on December 16 if all goes to plan.”

He said the competition will see nine Men’s teams competing - one more than 2022 with the addition of a third Tupapa Cricket Club, that being a new youth team with Davis Teinaki in charge. 

He said that it is a great initiative to get more youth into the game, as well as take advantage of the return of Victoria Park to their Venues.  

Returning Champions, the Tupapa K-11 Orcas will defend their title against runners up Arorangi Redbacks, with strengthened dual Nikao teams chasing them both. 

Takuvaine looks to return to earlier glories, and while the field needs refurbishment and is unplayable, they will wage battle as the nomads of the competition. 

Stalwarts Tupapa look to be king of their own village as well as their Island.

He said continual top four Turangi and their neighbours Muri will be teams to watch, as Muri has added the Fijian fireballer, Tomasi Vanuarua and Turangi has wrangled the 2022 Player of the final, Ben Vakatini, to their Oval.

On the women’s side, seven teams currently strive to knock off the defending champions from Muri.  However, MCC look stronger than ever having had the core of their team on the National squad.  Captain Phillica Mauariki will lead her Nukapure based squad after posting an impressive 36 runs off 35 balls against a furious PNG side at the ICC EAP Qualifier in Vanuatu.  Runners up Arorangi’s Red Hot Babes will look to topple Muri with a hopeful second straight grand final appearance.  Tupapa and Takuvaine will be looking to smash that dream, with the Nikao wolves looking to howl their way to the crown. 

He said the K-11 women have a challenge in matching the men’s glory, so will they be able to add more hardware to the newcomer club’s trophy case? 

“Lastly, Tupapa, the old warriors of the competition will look to rebuild under General Nauma and put themselves in contention.  We are also holding out some hope an 8th team will be forming but confirmation is yet to come.  If so, the fixtures are ready to accommodate.”

He said they have plans for another great family friendly Grand Final with food trucks, entertainment and plan to stream it live, if possible. 

 And they have taken some steps to improve the competition from both an umpiring and scoring perspective. 

“CICA is asking anyone interested in Umpiring and/or Scoring to contact us as we are offering training, certification, and competitive per game rates for those who are interested.”

 He said all clubs are looking for new members and they are happy to help find you a club if you are eager to learn, play, or just support Cricket in the Cook Islands. 

Please note that CICA is supporting those under age 18 and women players who wish to join a club for the first time by offering to pay their clubs fees for the first year.  So please look up our Facebook Page send us an email [] or IM or call on 682 54274 for additional information.

The Women’s competition will begin the following Saturday on September 23.

Cook Islands Women’s cricket team have just returned from the Women’s ICC Tour with their first ever Twenty20 International (T20I) ranking at 58th ahead of both Fiji and the Philippines in the ICC East Asia Pacific Region.

Round 1 fixtures starts at 3.30pm on September 16 (Saturday):

Arorangi vs Takuvaine at Raemaru Park

Tupapa1 vs Turangi at Victoria Park (Tupapa)

Nikao 1 vs K-11 (Tupapa) at Nikao Field

Muri vs Nikao 2 at Nukupure Park.