Cricket all set for round one

Monday 18 September 2017 | Written by Rashneel Kumar | Published in Cricket


Defending champions Turangi (men’s) and Muri (women’s) are expected to have an easy start to their campaign in the opening round of the 2017 Rarotonga Cricket Season today.

The weekly club competition will see five men’s and three women’s matches played at various fields around Rarotonga.

Turangi which defeated Tupapa in last year’s final will take on Arorangi at Turangi Oval.

On paper, Turangi will prove a much better side but minnows Arorangi is likely to put up a strong challenge to prove a point against the giants.

In the women’s clash, Avana faces a mammoth task against the defending champions Muri.

Muri remains undefeated from the past couple of seasons and the onus will be on the Avana side to create history by breaking their winning streak.

Cook Islands Cricket chief executive officer Davis Teinaki is hoping for a competitive season in both categories.

He said while Turangi and Muri remained the favourites, there were other teams which are likely to give them a good run for their money.

The women’s matches will begin at 12.30pm and the men’s at 3pm.


Women’s – Tupapa-Matavera at Victoria Park, Turangi-Takuvaine at Turangi Oval, Muri-Avana at Nukupure Park, Nikao – Bye

Men’s –Matavera-Takuvaine at Matavera Field, Muri-Tavana at Nukupure Park, Turangi-Arorangi at Turangi Oval, Tupapa-U19 at Victoria Park, Nikao-Tupapa II at Nikao Field