Female footballers touring Tahiti

Saturday July 07, 2018 Written by Published in Soccer
The Cook Islands national women’s development football team. 18070529 The Cook Islands national women’s development football team. 18070529

The Cook Islands national women’s development football team will tour Tahiti from July 7 to 14 in preparation for the 11th edition of the OFC Women’s Nations Cup, which is scheduled to take place in New Caledonia in November.

The Cook Islands team will spend a week in Tahiti and will play a couple of football matches against the Tahitian national women’s team.

Head coach Jason Stephens has named his squad for the forthcoming football friendlies in Tahiti and is looking forward to working with the talented group, many of whom are only 16 years of age.

“This tour provides an excellent opportunity to bed players in and to give them a taste of what overseas competition football feels like,” said Stephens.

“We have chosen a real young squad – 10 players of which are 16 years of age, a couple more under 19 years, and a few older heads. A few are new to the national set up.

“These two games will show if the players chosen belong at this level or above – players know that ultimately they are playing for places for November.”

Cook Islands will take on Tahiti in their first meeting on Tuesday next week. The match is expected to be an exciting encounter. The second match between the two teams will be held on Friday next week.

There will be 11 nations participating in the OFC Women’s Nations Cup and the winner of the competition will qualify for the FIFA 2019 Women’s World Cup and the Olympic Football Tournament in Tokyo in 2020. 

The official draw for the OFC Women’s Nations Cup took place at the OFC headquarters in Auckland, New Zealand, revealing the qualifying round in Fiji.

The first stage of the competition will begin in August when Fiji, American Samoa and Vanuatu will meet for the last available spot in the group stage. The winner will join Tonga, the Cook Islands and the reigning New Zealand champions in Group B.

Group A consists of New Caledonia, Samoa, Papua New Guinea and Tahiti.       - CIFA

Leave a comment