Three years in a row

Monday November 04, 2019 Written by Published in Rugby Union
Defending champions Tupapa Matie Bar with the Raro International 7s title. 19110311 Defending champions Tupapa Matie Bar with the Raro International 7s title. 19110311

Defending champions Tupapa Matie Bar and Raro All Stars retained the Raro 7s titles.


Tupapa Matie Bar won the Raro International 7s title for the third consecutive year after beating Avatiu Eels in the final at the National Stadium on Saturday.

In the women’s division, Rarotonga Brewery Raro All Stars also achieved a similar feat after winning all their three matches against the Vaine Mauke.

In the men’s final, Tupapa Matie Bar had to weather a barrage of attack from the Eels before getting an opportunity to mount their attack.

The New Zealand-based team led by skipper Mark Telea, who won the men’s player of the tournament, scored three unanswered tries before the Eels managed a consolation try, to win 22-7.

Tupapa Matie Bar who finished undefeated on day one overcame sister club Tupapa Panthers 21-14 in the Cup quarterfinal before thrashing Team Transport 31-0 in the semifinal.

The Eels defeated Yalovata 7-0 in the tough quarters and fought tooth and nail to beat Arorangi Bears 12-7 in the semis.

The men’s plate final was won by Tauae Bulls who defeated Tupapa Panthers 14-10.

New Zealand’s Harbour Hawks claimed the bowl while Auau Enua settled for the shield prize.

Meanwhile the Rarotonga Brewery Raro All Stars won all their three matches against Vaine Mauke 38-0, 34-0 and 43-0.

Full results

Day one: Tupapa Matie Bar 29 Auau Enua 7s 7, Arorangi Cowboys 41 Veilomani Brothers 0, Tauae Bulls 19 Team Transport 15, Tupapa Panthers 33 Harbour Hawks 7, Yalovata 19 Auau Enua 7s 0, Atiu Warriors 36 Veilomani Brothers 5, Aitutaki 7s 7 Team Transport 28, Avatiu Eels 21 Harbour Hawks 14, Women’s Raro All Stars 38 Vaine Mauke 0, Tupapa Matie Bar 29 Yalovata 5, Arorangi Cowboys 5 Atiu Warriors 12, Tauae Bulls 28 Aitutaki 7s 0, Tupapa Panthers 0 Avatiu Eels 17

Day two: Auau Enua 0 Harbour Hawks 40, Aitutaki 26 Veilomani Brothers 5, Tupapa Matie Bar 21 Tupapa Panthers 14, Team Transport 7 Atiu Warriors 5, Arorangi Cowboys 17 Tauae Bulls 7, Avatiu Eels 7 Yalovata 0, Raro All Stars 34 Auau Enua 0, Semis – Tupapa Panthers 19 Atiu 12, Tauae Bulls 24 Yalovata 7, Tupapa Matie Bar 31 Team Transport 0, Avatiu Eels 12 Arorangi Cowboys 7. Shield final – Auau Enua 38 Veilomani Brothers 0, Bowl final – Harbour Hawks 33 Aitutaki 0, Plate – Tauae Bulls 14 Tupapa Panthers 10, Women’s – Raro All Stars 43 Mauke 0, Cup – Tupapa Matie Bar 22 Avatiu Eels 7

Leave a comment