Tennis elects new president

Saturday March 14, 2020 Written by Published in Other Sports
Grassroots development has been a major focus for Tennis Cook Islands. 20031339 Grassroots development has been a major focus for Tennis Cook Islands. 20031339

Davina Hosking-Ashford has become the new president of Tennis Cook Islands.


Ashford, the former national rep, was elected the president at the association’s annual general meeting this week. She replaces Petero Okotai.

Dr Deacon Teapa, head surgeon at Rarotonga hospital, was elected the vice-president, Jackie Rongo as secretary and Nickolas Ashford treasurer.

The committee members are Kathy Numanga Wearing, Kura Karika-Une, Maire Porter-Forsyth and Tia Porter.

Jackie Rongo said they were looking forward to a “great year of all things tennis”.

“Meitaki ma’ata to outgoing president Petero Okotai for your efforts in 2019 - 2020 in helping us build on tennis in the Cook Islands.

“Meitaki ma’ata to all the members who attended our AGM and offered many positive contributions to carry us forward together.

“Meitaki ma’ata to our community supporters and sponsors who continue to support this great sport.”

The 2019 season was a major success for Tennis Cook Islands who has been focusing on the development of its upcoming players under the guidance of coach Malcolm Kajer. And their effort paid off after some of their development squad players were given international scholarships.

Junior boys’ squad player, Maka Maui accepted a one-year scholarship to the International Tennis Federation House in Fiji in January. Maui has received backing from Bank of Cook Islands on his personal tennis journey.

Junior girls’ squad player Moana Une earned an invitation to the Albury tournament in Australia after performing well at the Junior Championship in Fiji in July last year. The tournament was held earlier in the year.

Te Akaiti Toa joined the Meriden School in Australia in January. She will be part of their tennis programme.

Leave a comment