JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 63

JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 62

JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 78

Basketball to bounce back

Friday August 16, 2013 Written by Published in Other Sports

Basketball will bounce back into action on August 20 with the code’s main basketball season.

The competition will played every Tuesday evening between August 20 and November 5 at the Telecom Sports Arena in Nikao

The women’s division is sponsored by ANZ Bank and the men’s division is sponsored by High Tide Bar and Grill.

The Cook Islands Basketball Federation is looking for a maximum of four women’s and six men’s teams with a maximum of 12 registered and affiliated players per team.

This year’s season will see a youth development initiative incorporated where each team must have at least one player under the age of 19 registered and affiliated in their team.

Team fees are $250 and code affiliation is $5 per player, official and coach for 2013.

These fees must be paid up by the third week of the competition.

This is the association’s first full tournament for the year so dust off your basketball boots and get your team registered – registration closes Monday August 19 at 5pm.

A special meitaki to basketball’s sponsors ANZ Bank and the High Tide Bar and Grill for making this tournament possible.

For more information, registration forms, rules and regulations please contact games director Malissa Marsters-Mataio on This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or contact Teumere Koteka-Heather at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or call 55 737.

The new basketball executives include –president-Steve Lyons, vice president-James Puati, treasurer-Nanise Teulilo, assistant treasurer-Allan Mataio, secretary-Teumere Koteka-Heather, assistant secretary-Liz Sosene, games director-Malissa Marsters-Mataio, assistant games director-Anthony Ikimotu, rules Interpreter-Nukutau Pokura, coaching commissioner-Harry Neale, technical commissioner-Sharon Marsters, Vaka Te-Au-O-Tonga delegate-Tangi Vano (female position is vacant), Vaka Puaikura-Tupopongi Marsters (male position is vacant), Vaka Takitumu-Monica Teulilo and Brendan Heath.

Leave a comment