JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 5443

Print this page

Netball names national squad

Monday April 09, 2018 Written by Published in Netball

The Netball Cook Islands (NCI) national squad gathered in Auckland, New Zealand on the weekend of March 10-12 for their three-day camp leading into World Oceania Qualifiers to be held in Auckland 17-21 April.


The intense camp included fitness testing, training, strategy, and two important practise games against the Northern Mystics Marvels and the Northern Stars Comets Beko League Teams.

NCI host school Red Hill Primary will support the squad during the qualifying tournament. “We are very excited to receive a Pacifica welcome, along with a ‘meet and greet’ on Friday, April 13, a NCI spokesperson said.

“The squad will then come together for pre-camp on the Saturday, leading them in to qualifiers.”

The team will attend church on Sunday, and will be hosted by the Auckland Cook Islands Community (time and location to be advised, monitor the NCI Facebook Page so you can update your families).

Netball Cook Islands are indebted to the following sponsors for their continued generous support of the campaign: David Hopkins and the High Wire Charitable Trust; Air Rarotonga; and the Cook Islands Black Pearl Authority.

Meanwhile in the domestic scene, Avatiu will host Takuvaine, Ngatangiia will travel to Tupapa and Arorangi will play Titikaveka at the Arorangi netball court.

The first set of games on the Avatiu netball courts will begin at 11am with the U8, and will go right through to the premiers at 2.40.

At 11.30 the Tupapa and Ngatangiia U6 will begin, and will also go right through to the premier side at 2.40

In Arorangi, matches will start at 12pm with the U10, and at 3.10 the premier teams will face off.


National squad: Ashleigh Iro (Captain) (Rarotonga), Eri Te Ana Short (Vice Captain) (Rarotonga), Luciana Nicholas (Rarotonga), Anania Piri (Rarotonga), Daimzel Rongokea (Rarotonga), Alanna Smith (Rarotonga), Marjorie Toru (Rarotonga), Jasmin Forbes-James (Australia), Princess Tikitau (Australia), Alex Iro (NZ), Maria Milani (NZ), Rochelle Teiri (NZ). Dale Wilson (Coach), Mandy Souchon (Manager), Talia Rout (Physio).