Titikaveka wins netball title again

Monday May 30, 2016 Written by Published in Netball

Titikaveka have maintained their dominance in the domestic netball competition following another powerful campaign in the 2016 season which reached its climax over the weekend.


The defending champions ended the Rarotonga Netball Club competition premier division undefeated with an outstanding 70-58 win over Arorangi in the grand finale on Saturday at the Bluesky Sports Arena in Nikao.

Titikaveka has once again proven that they are the true queens on court after producing an excruciating effort in the title win.

The side was firing from the start of the opening quarter, scoring their opening points within the first 10 seconds of the game.

But Arorangi, spurred by their vocal supporters who cheered their hearts and lungs out, managed to keep up with the score with their quick passing and a well-structured game plan.

Arorangi led 18-13 at the end of the opening quarter.

In the second quarter, Arorangi brought out their defensive skills, ensuring Titikaveka made no goals, but the girls in blue managed to break through to overcome the deficit.

Titikaveka’s experience came in handy as the side went into the break with a slender 32-30.

The third quarter saw lanky goal shooter Alana Smith grabbing every opportunity to work her magic and push Titikaveka further on the scoreboard to lead 52-41.

Under pressure Arorangi tried to make a comeback but Titikaveka maintained their dominance and cruised home with a well-deserved 70-58 win.

In other matches, Ngatangiia took the under-10 grade award while U12 went to Avatiu and U14 to Arorangi.

In the knockout round winners in the U12 were awarded to Avatiu while the U14 went to Tupapa.

The junior open was awarded to Arorangi as well as the knockout junior open title. 

Leave a comment