Stage set for Tinman Triathlon

Saturday April 13, 2019 Written by Published in Sports

Roland Neururer will be the one to beat in the 36th Tinman Triathlon which will be held today at the Tikioki Tri Site in Titikaveka.


The annual event which starts at 1pm will feature a 1200 metres swim, 31 kilometre cycle and 10km run.

Twelve individuals and five teams have registered for this year’s competition.

Neururer, who has won the Tinman title eight times, is the top bet in the men’s competition.

He will surely face a tough battle from the likes of Jakub Postrzygacz and Thomas Henderson and the other competitors from the men’s triathlon held last month.

In the women’s competition, it will be again a battle between last year’s winner Harriet Browning, most improved Adrianna Skurosz and Lucy McDonald.

The Tinman Triathlon started 36 years ago on April 16, 1983 and was held in front of the Sailing Club in Muri with a 1200m swim.

“Leaving Muri Lagoon, the competitors then cycled around the island before running 10km from the Sailing Club into town and finishing at the Banana Court with a well-earned drink,” said Cook Islands Triathlon president Roland Neururer.

“Reports of the race in the Cook Islands News mentioned the surprising interest in the race by the large number of spectators who lined the course and cheered the athletes all-round the island.”

The winner of that first race was Paul McDonnell in a great time of 2.09.32 with Don Carlaw and Dave Hickson three minutes behind him.

Other competitors in the first Tinman were Brett Porter (2.20.32), Nooroa Robati (2.36.06), Tim Murray (2.46.27) and teams from Foodland, Fisheries, Apex and National Bank.

“The first female competitors entered the race in 1985 with Rangi Ngaata going on to be the first female winner in 2.40.29.  Fenny Smith, Lynnsay Francis, Mona Henderson and Bernie Raffe are all previous winners with Kelly Pick breaking the women’s record in 2011 with a time of 1.53.43,” Neururer said.

“The fastest time was set in 1990 by the then 20-year-old Bernard Wind, whose staggering cycle time of 48.34 formed the basis of his 1.49.14 race record and was the last of three consecutive wins.”

After 10 teams completed the first Tinman, Neururer said the team racing really took off and in the late eighties, there was a huge participation from the community with over 20 teams competing one year. 

The fastest team time dates back to 1990 when Bret Gibson, Richard Williams, and Tim Martin set a cracker time of 1.47.12.

Meanwhile Neururer said CITAI thanks their sponsor The Bond Store, who are supplying again some great prizes.

Race Statistics 

Kevin Henderson 7, Serena Hunter 7, Roland Neururer 8, Vanessa Palmer/Woodger 5, Geoff Stoddart 5, Kelly Pick 3

Leave a comment