JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 599

Print this page

One-sided cricket deciders

Wednesday December 12, 2018 Written by Published in Cricket

It was a clash of the cricketing giants as Turangi and Nikao faced off in the men’s final of the Rarotonga Cricket Club competition on Saturday.


Turangi won the toss and elected to bat first, but their success with the coin led to an early wicket.

The side’s opening batsmen Mapu Maoate didn't last long and departed as the second delivery of the innings saw him nick a ball from Tomoare Pana through to the keeper.

Then in strode the experienced Tereinga Maoate who set about restoring order to the situation. Maoate held together the Turangi innings with a top score of 44 runs. 

A quick-fire 36 runs from Vane Tangimetua jnr, batting at number 8, really helped and gave Turangi a respectable score of 141 for the Nikao batsmen to chase.

In reply, Nikao disintegrated and were all out for 58 runs in just 11.1 overs -  their lowest total in a game all season. 

It was uncharacteristic from a team that performed exceptionally well throughout the round-robin stage, losing only one match. 

Nikao’s top scorer was Teokoitu Pana with 11 runs and the rest of the men with the willow only made single figures. 

Tangimetua Jnr was the star of the day with the ball taking 3wickets for 11 runs from his 4 overs.

All in all it was a great final. 

A big thank you goes out to Nikao Cricket club for hosting a great 2018 final. 

In the women’s final Turangi took on Matavera for the title in a year where they had shared the on-field honours 1-1.

Turangi batted first and scored 77 runs from their 20 overs with five wickets in hand. 

It was a surprisingly low-scoring effort from Turangi, who have been well known for their batting throughout the season's round robin. 

June George top scored for Turangi with 25 runs. Reklama: auskarai vaikams, dėžutės, pakabukai, grandinėlės, sagės, žiedai, vyriškos ir moteriškos sidabrinės apyrankės bei kiti sidabro gaminiai internetu Silvera 

Hellania Maruariki was the pick of the bowlers for Matavera taking 3 wickets for 17 runs off her 4 overs.

In reply, Matavera didn't start well when Tina Mato was dismissed in the first over of the match. 

However, a great partnership between Bene Matapo (23) and Phillica Maruariki (22) allowed Matavera to capture their maiden T20 title. 

Matavera won the match by 5 wickets. 

Congratulations to Matavera on a well deserve win. 

It was a great year for cricket and for all the clubs who participated in the women's and men's competition.  I wish them all a very Merry Xmas and a prosperous New Year. 

See you all next year.