Nikao remains unbeaten in cricket

Thursday October 25, 2018 Written by Published in Cricket

Nikao has taken the lead in the Rarotonga Cricket Club men’s competition after beating Matavera in the top-of-the-table clash on Saturday.

The impressive Nikao, which earlier beat the defending champions Tupapa, ensured they remain the top bet for the title after overcoming another hurdle at home.

The side batted first and scored a massive 203 runs with Teokoitu Pana smashing 54 runs. 

Matavera usually have a good bowling line up but, on Saturday, the side failed to counter the big hits from the hosts.

In reply, the visitors run chase got off to a jittery start as their top four batsmen were dismissed early. The side was all out for 117 runs in the 16th over. 

Maru Mataora led the attack for Nikao after picking three wickets in the three overs that he bowled as his side won the match by a massive 86 runs.

“Nikao has shown in the men's competition that they are the team to beat this year. After five round still unbeaten, Nikao is on top of the world,” said Cook Islands Cricket chief executive officer Davis Teinaki.

In the feature women’s clash, Avana and Tupapa battled in a close contest.

Tupapa batted first and scored 76 runs for six from their 16 overs. 

In reply, the young Avana side tried hard, but fell six runs short of the target after getting bowled out for 70 runs.




Nikao-Avana II – Avana II batted first and scored a total of 89 runs for seven. Captain fantastic Lina Taufahema was brilliant with the bat, scoring 29 runs. Turanga Taikakara of Nikao collected three wickets from four overs. In reply, Nikao overcame the score in the 13th over, winning the match by five wickets.

Takuvaine-Matavera – Takuvaine batted first and scored a total of 76 runs in the 14th over. Tauwaiva Wuatai top scored on 41 runs. Tokoono Harry of Matavera took four wickets. In reply, Matavera managed to reach the target in eight overs with loss of only a wicket, to record nine wicket win.


Arorangi-Nikao II – Arorangi batted first and the team scored 149 runs for five from their 20 overs. Gabe Raymond was the star of the day with the bat, top scoring 76 runs not out. In reply, Nikao II succumbed to a brilliant bowling from Tomasi (3 overs, 7 runs and 4 wickets) and John Glassie (4 overs, 1 maiden, 11 runs and 3 wickets), handing Arorangi a 38 runs win.

Takuvaine-Tupapa II – Tupapa II batted first and scored 140 runs. Noomai Yekitea was in top form scoring 70 runs. Takuvaine bowling had a collective effort with the ball with three of their bowlers taking two wickets each. In reply, a good batting partnership between Ula Teinaki (65 runs not out) and Bruce John (38 runs) was the highlight of Takuvaine’s run chase. Takuvaine eventually won the match by seven wickets.

Tavana-Tupapa – Tavana won the toss and decided to bat first. It was not a good batting performance from Tavana as they crumbled to a low total of 41runs all out in the 12th over. Tupapa bowlers were brilliant especially Junior Korua, who produced the best figure of the day (4 overs, 3 maidens, 8 runs and 3 wickets). In reply, Tupapa’s opening partnership of Junior Ruarau and Tesl wasted no time with the run chase, overcoming the Tavana score in the sixth over to record a 10-wicket win.

Leave a comment