Turangi unbeaten as cricket enters round six

Monday October 23, 2017 Written by Published in Cricket

Turangi men’s team heads into round six of Rarotonga cricket season against Nikao today with an impressive unbeaten run.


The defending champions have managed to maintain a clean slate in the earlier rounds to head the competition points table, closely followed by Tupapa and Matavera.

In last week’s match, Turangi recorded a massive seven wicket win against Tavana at Turangi Oval.

The side batted first and scored 247 runs for 3 in the full overs.

Brothers and openers Tutu and Vane Tangimetua formed an excellent partnership with Tutu, scoring 112 runs (not out) and Vane managing 84 runs before losing his wicket in 5.5 overs.

Tutu smashed five sixes and 18 boundaries to score the only century of the round on Saturday.

In reply, Tavana were all out for 66 runs in 11.3 overs following some superb bowling from Turangi.

Turangi’s Tika Ioane collected three wickets in two overs that he bowled, conceding only eight runs.

Tuaiti Mareikura was also impressive with his throws managing three wickets, including a maiden, in three overs. He conceded 13 runs.

In the other match, Tupapa also recorded a seven wicket win over Takuvaine which batted first and scored 146 for 9.

In reply, Tupapa managed to reach the target in 13 overs after losing three wickets.

Muri won its match against Arorangi through default after the latter failed to turn up.

Matavera recorded the biggest win of the round after thumping Tupapa II by nine wicket.

Tupapa II were all out for 127 runs and Matavera, with the help of Ben Vakatini’s 72, managed to reach the score with loss of a wicket only.

The under-19’s perfect run of late came to an end after the side went down to Nikao.

The U19 were all out for 80 runs and Nikao lost only two wickets to manage the target and record an eight wicket win.

Other scores were not available when this edition went to press yesterday.

Fixtures Men’s – Muri-U19 at Nukupure Park, Takuvaine-Tavana at Happy Valley, Tupapa II-Tupapa at Nikao Field, Arorangi-Matavera at Raemaru Park, Turangi-Nikao at Turangi Oval; Women’s – Muri-Matavera at Nukupure Park, Tupapa-Takuvaine at Nikao Field, Turangi-Nikao at Turangi Oval

Leave a comment