Turangi puts end to Muri’s unbeaten run

Friday October 06, 2017 Written by Published in Cricket

Muri’s long standing unbeaten run in the Rarotonga Cricket Competition has come to an end after the side lost to Turangi last week.


The defending champions in the women’s division were unable to match the prowess of last year’s runner up, going down by 50 runs at Nukupure Park on Saturday.

Muri had been unbeaten in the competition for the past several seasons.

In the round three clash, Turangi put on a great effort in both innings to claim the important win. The side managed 135 runs in 20 runs, thanks largely to opener Mona Amoa who top scored on 40 runs (not out).

June George managed three wickets in four overs and conceded eight runs, while Tekura Kaukura grabbed two wickets in four overs. She conceded 10 runs. Muri were all out for 85 runs in the final over.

The Turangi men’s side maintained last year’s brilliant form, thumping the development under-19 team by 168 runs.

Turangi managed to amass a total of 258 runs in 20 overs. David Piakura scored 47 runs while veteran Vane Tangimetua Sr 45 to help the side hoard a massive score.

In bowling for Turangi, William Jephson collected three wickets, including two maidens in three overs.

Tangimetua Sr also managed three wickets in just 2.1 overs, conceding 11 runs.

The U19 men’s side were all out for 90 runs on 11.2 overs.

The wins see the Turangi teams lead the opening rounds of the Rarotonga Cricket Competition.

Results of other matches were not available before CINews went to print yesterday.

-Rashneel Kumar


Leave a comment